Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Bloomsbury Readers Series

by
  • (2 reviews)
    Book 1
    Book 1

    "Macbeth"

    Tony Bradman's retelling of Shakespeare's Macbeth is a historical narrative with plenty of pace and drama. It's a very d... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    The Thing in the Basement

    The Thing in the Basement is an atmospheric mystery story with a school setting. When the boy arrives at his new school ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    Taliesin

    Gwion drinks from the witch Cardiwen's magic cauldron of knowledge and is reborn as Taliesin: magician, poet, prophet, w... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader

    'McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors.' (The Bookseller) Brilliant historical fiction from doub... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A beautiful retelling of a classic Greek myth, perfect for fans of Geraldine McCaughrean. When the world was new and th... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    Finding Fizz

    Finding Fizz is a story about bullying and being 'one of the gang'. Carly hasn't been herself lately - it seems that she... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    Harry's House of Invention: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A quirky comedy about a family of inventors by Rachel Anderson with brilliant illustrations from Chris Jevons. Harry li... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    On the Ghost Trail

    On the Ghost Trail is a spooky mystery story with a surprising hero. Grandpa's creaky old house is the perfect place for... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader

    An atmospheric retelling of the story of Macbeth, perfect for fans of Viking Boy and Janina Ramirez. One dark and storm... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy books. When D... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 11
    Book 11

    The Path of Finn McCool: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A comic tale based on Irish mythology and the Giant's Causeway from award-winning author Sally Prue. If you go to Irel... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 12
    Book 12

    Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. From a mysteri... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 13
    Book 13

    The Barber's Clever Wife: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A funny retelling of an Indian folk tale from best-selling author Narinder Dhami. Bulbul would much rather sit at home ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 14
    Book 14

    Shock Forest and other magical stories: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A magical collection of short stories from double Carnegie Medal winner Margaret Mahy. A wizard's house with coloured ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 15
    Book 15

    The Story Thief: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A quirky reworking of the traditional Anansi stories from west Africa by Andrew Fusek Peters. Nyame the sky god has a s... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 16
    Book 16

    The Boy in the Jam Jar: A Bloomsbury Reader

    'Joyce Dunbar is one of the best writers for children today.' (The Guardian) A powerful and personal story from Joyce D... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 17
    Book 17

    My Friend the Alien: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A thought-provoking comedy about being an alien from prize-winning Zanib Mian. Maxx is an alien: a real one - from the ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 18
    Book 18

    To Liberty! The Adventures of Thomas-Alexandre Dumas: A Bloomsbury Reader

    An exciting adventure set in revolutionary France which tells the true story of a swashbuckling hero Thomas-Alexandre Du... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 19
    Book 19

    My Other Life: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Thought-provoking contemporary fantasy from best-selling author Polly Ho-Yen. Mae spends a lot of time in hospitals. Sh... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 20
    Book 20

    Granny Ting Ting

    Nine-year-old Michael is coming from London to Trinidad to visit his grandmother, who is recovering from a difficult ope... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 21
    Book 21

    The Queen's Token

    Hal is a poor stable boy, who has a dream - to work for King Henry at his palace in Whitehall. But when he chances upon ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 22
    Book 22

    The Tempest: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A vibrant retelling of Shakespeare's The Tempest told through the voice of Ariel, written by Franzeska G. Ewart. A year... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 23
    Book 23

    Wings of Icarus: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A gripping retelling of the classic Greek myth by bestselling author Jenny Oldfield. Daedalus can see how much his impu... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 24
    Book 24

    Bamba Beach: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A poignant, contemporary family story set in Goa, India, written by Pratima Mitchell. Hari's family make their living f... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 25
    Book 25

    Scratch and Sniff: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A cops and robbers adventure with a twist by children's writer Margaret Ryan. PC Penny Penrose is always given the rot... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 26
    Book 26

    The Hound of Ulster: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A thrilling retelling of the traditional Irish legend of Cuchulainn written by Malachy Doyle. Young Setanta, the son of... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 27
    Book 27

    Sindhu and Jeet's Detective Agency: A Bloomsbury Reader

    An exciting detective story from Chitra Soundar, author of over 50 children's books in the UK, India and the US. Sindhu... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 28
    Book 28

    Ruby Ali's Mission Break Up: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A contemporary story about life in foster care, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. Ruby Ali's eighteen-year-old sis... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 29
    Book 29

    The Night the Moon Went Out: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A heart-warming adventure story by award-winning comedian, actress, broadcaster, hearing-aid wearer and author of Harrie... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 30
    Book 30

    Ping and the Missing Ring: A Bloomsbury Reader

    An exciting contemporary mystery set in a Thai family in London, by Emma Shevah, author of Dream On, Amber. When Ping ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 31
    Book 31

    Maggie and the Moonbird: A Bloomsbury Reader

    An inspiring fantasy story from Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In and October, October. Margot wants her parent... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody
    The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - Have you ever thought what it might be like if you were famous in the future? A brilliant middle-grade adventure about friendship, courage and embracing our talents even when they make us stand out. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and recommended for ages 8+

    View book
    Featured Books

    Recent Reviews