Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Bloomsbury Readers Series

by
  • (12 reviews)
    Book 1
    Book 1

    Taliesin

    Gwion drinks from the witch Cardiwen's magic cauldron of knowledge and is reborn as Taliesin: magician, poet, prophet, w... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    The Thing in the Basement

    The Thing in the Basement is an atmospheric mystery story with a school setting. When the boy arrives at his new school ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    On the Ghost Trail

    On the Ghost Trail is a spooky mystery story with a surprising hero. Grandpa's creaky old house is the perfect place for... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    Finding Fizz

    Finding Fizz is a story about bullying and being 'one of the gang'. Carly hasn't been herself lately - it seems that she... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    "Macbeth"

    Tony Bradman's retelling of Shakespeare's Macbeth is a historical narrative with plenty of pace and drama. It's a very d... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    The Queen's Token

    Hal is a poor stable boy, who has a dream - to work for King Henry at his palace in Whitehall. But when he chances upon ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    Granny Ting Ting

    Nine-year-old Michael is coming from London to Trinidad to visit his grandmother, who is recovering from a difficult ope... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    Macbeth

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader: Brown Book Band

    A beautiful retelling of a classic Greek myth, perfect for fans of Geraldine McCaughrean. When the world was new and th... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader: Lime Book Band

    A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy book... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 11
    Book 11

    Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Red Book Band

    ' McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors .' (The Bookseller) Brilliant historical fiction... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 12
    Book 12

    Harry's House of Invention: A Bloomsbury Reader: Lime Book Band

    A quirky comedy about a family of inventors by Rachel Anderson with brilliant illustrations from Chris Jevons. Harr... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 13
    Book 13

    Shock Forest and other magical stories: A Bloomsbury Reader: Grey Book Band

    A magical collection of short stories from double Carnegie Medal winner Margaret Mahy. A wizard's house with colou... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 14
    Book 14

    Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Blue Book Band

    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. From a... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 15
    Book 15

    The Barber's Clever Wife: A Bloomsbury Reader: Brown Book Band

    A funny retelling of an Indian folk tale from best-selling author Narinder Dhami. Bulbul would much rather ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 16
    Book 16

    The Path of Finn McCool: A Bloomsbury Reader: Brown Book Band

    A comic tale based on Irish mythology and the Giant's Causeway from award-winning author Sally Prue. If you go to ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 17
    Book 17

    The Story Thief: A Bloomsbury Reader: Lime Book Band

    A quirky reworking of the traditional Anansi stories from west Africa by Andrew Fusek Peters. Nyame the sky god has... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 18
    Book 18

    The Boy in the Jam Jar: A Bloomsbury Reader: Lime Book Band

    A powerful and personal story from Joyce Dunbar about what it's like to experience hearing difficulties. 'Joyce Dun... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 19
    Book 19

    My Other Life: A Bloomsbury Reader: Brown Book Band

    Thought-provoking contemporary fantasy from best-selling author Polly Ho-Yen. Mae spends a lot of time in hospitals... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 20
    Book 20

    To Liberty! The Adventures of Thomas-Alexandre Dumas: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Red Book Band

    An exciting adventure set in revolutionary France which tells the true story of a swashbuckling hero Thomas-Alexandre ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 21
    Book 21

    My Friend the Alien: A Bloomsbury Reader: Grey Book Band

    A thought-provoking comedy about being an alien from prize-winning Zanib Mian. Maxx is an alien: a real one - from ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 22
    Book 22

    The Hound of Ulster: A Bloomsbury Reader: Grey Book Band

    A thrilling retelling of the traditional Irish legend of Cuchulainn written by Malachy Doyle. Young Setanta, the son of... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 23
    Book 23

    Wings of Icarus: A Bloomsbury Reader: Brown Book Band

    A gripping retelling of the classic Greek myth by bestselling author Jenny Oldfield. Daedalus can see how much his impu... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 24
    Book 24

    Scratch and Sniff: A Bloomsbury Reader: Lime Book Band

    A cops and robbers adventure with a twist by children's writer Margaret Ryan. PC Penny Penrose is always given the rot... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 25
    Book 25

    The Tempest: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Red Book Band

    A vibrant retelling of Shakespeare's The Tempest told through the voice of Ariel, written by Franzeska G. Ewart. A year... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 26
    Book 26

    Sindhu and Jeet's Detective Agency: A Bloomsbury Reader: Grey Book Band

    An exciting detective story from Chitra Soundar, author of over 50 children's books in the UK, India and the US. Si... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 27
    Book 27

    Ruby Ali's Mission Break Up: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Red Book Band

    A contemporary story about life in foster care, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. Ruby Ali's eighteen-year-old... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 28
    Book 28

    Ping and the Missing Ring: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Red Book Band

    An exciting contemporary mystery set in a Thai family in London, by Emma Shevah, author of Dream On, Amber. When Ping ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 29
    Book 29

    Bamba Beach: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Blue Book Band

    A poignant, contemporary family story set in Goa, India, written by Pratima Mitchell. Hari's family make their living f... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 30
    Book 30

    Maggie and the Moonbird: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Blue Book Band

    An inspiring fantasy story from Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In and October, October. Maggie wants her dad to... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    Book 31
    Book 31

    The Night the Moon Went Out: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Blue Book Band

    A heart-warming adventure story by award-winning comedian, actress, broadcaster, hearing-aid wearer and author of Harrie... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 32
    Book 32

    Sindhu and Jeet's Missing Star Mystery: A Bloomsbury Reader: Grey Book Band

    More exciting detective adventures featuring Sindhu and Jeet by Chitra Soundar, author of over 50 children's books in ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 33
    Book 33

    Time Travel at Puddle Lane: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Blue Book Band

    An exciting time-travel adventure story by Emma Shevah, perfect for fans of Horrible Histories . The librarian a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 34
    Book 34

    Ada Rue and the Banished: A Bloomsbury Reader: Dark Red Book Band

    A magical adventure adventure story about moving to a new home and finding your inner strength by Kereen Getten, autho... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 35
    Book 35

    The Great Cake Race: A Bloomsbury Reader: Lime Book Band

    A funny story about a girl who is determined to learn to bake by Theresa Heapy, author of The Marvellous Moon Map .... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 36
    Book 36

    Pixie Led: A Bloomsbury Reader

    A hilarious folklore-inspired adventure featuring two BMX-riding heroines by award-winning author Stephen Davies . ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 37
    Book 37

    Rida and Madiya: A Bloomsbury Reader

    An uplifting story about family and overcoming differences, written by debut author Niyla Farook. Rida and Madiya ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 38
    Book 38

    No Pets Allowed! A Bloomsbury Reader

    A funny, uplifting tale about family and the healing power of pets from internationally published author, Chitra Sound... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Nura and the Immortal Palace
    Nura and the Immortal Palace

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - This gripping, magical middle-grade adventure is rooted in Muslim culture and tradition and follows a young girl's journey from modern-day Pakistan into the world of the jinn. Written by debut author M. T. Khan.

    View book
    Featured Books

    Recent Reviews