Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Maximum Ride

by
  • (2 reviews)

    Maximum Ride is a young adult fantasy adventure series written by bestselling author James Patterson.

    The books follow fourteen-year-old Maximum “Max” Ride and her “family” - six kids of varying ages, known as the Flock.  Max and her gang of friends – Fang, Iggy, Nudge, the Gasman and Angel – are pretty normal in most ways, except one major thing - that they are 98% human, 2% bird. They grew up in a biotech lab called the School, where they were experimented on and made into human-avian hybrids.

    Now Max and the Flock are free, but that does not mean that life is simple. To start with, there are the Erasers, wolf-like creatures with a taste for flying humans. Then there are their missions to save their friends, find out more about their history, seek revenge and ultimately, save the world.

    James Patterson is one of the world’s top thriller authors and in this series, has turned his hand to books for teens. James Patterson’s YA fantasy novels have all the action and tension of his adult books but with plenty of humour and a coming of age story. Other James Patterson kids books include the highly popular Max Einstein and Middle School series. Patterson is a firm advocate for literacy and an extremely prolific writer, having sold over 325 million copies of his books worldwide.
     
    The Maximum Ride movie was also made in 2016 but there are currently no plans for a sequel with critics and fans alike rating the books more highly.
     
    We recommend these YA fantasy books for readers aged 12+. They are great for fans of Artemis Fowl, The Wizards of Once or Alex Rider and are packed with adventure and excitement.
     
    It’s best to read the Maximum Ride series in order starting with book one Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment

    All the Maximum Ride books in order:

    Book 1: The Angel Experiment
    Book 2: School’s Out – Forever
    Book 3: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports
    Book 4: The Final Warning
    Book 5: MAX
    Book 6: Fang
    Book 7: Angel
    Book 8: Nevermore
    Book 9: Maximum Ride Forever
     

    Book 1
    Book 1

    Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment

    WELCOME TO MY NIGHTMARE Do not put this book down. I'm dead serious - your life could depend on it. I'm risking everyt... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    Maximum Ride: School's Out Forever

    If you've already experienced MAXIMUM RIDE: THE ANGEL EXPERIMENT, stop right here - just turn the page, and hold on ti... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports

    The exhilarating third novel in James Patterson's exciting adventure series for 9-15 year olds. You're about to join the... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    Maximum Ride: The Final Warning

    Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gazzy and Angel are six extraordinary kids created by the crazed Uber Director in a twisted labo... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Max: A Maximum Ride Novel: (Maximum Ride 5)

    ___________________________ 'Has all the characteristics of his work . . . pace, action, mystery and cool' ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    Fang: A Maximum Ride Novel: (Maximum Ride 6)

    ___________________________ 'Has all the characteristics of his work . . . pace, action, mystery and cool' ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    Maximum Ride: Angel

    Max Ride and her best friends have always had one another's backs. No matter what. Living on the edge as fugitives, they... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    Nevermore: A Maximum Ride Novel: (Maximum Ride 8)

    _____________________________________ 'Has all the characteristics of his work . . . pace, action, mystery ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    Maximum Ride Forever: (Maximum Ride 9)

    THE NINTH AND ULTIMATE MAXIMUM RIDE STORY IS HERE! Legions of Max fans won't be disappointed by this encore episode in ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    The Final Warning: A Maximum Ride Novel: (Maximum Ride 4)

    ___________________________ 'Has all the characteristics of his work ... pace, action, mystery and cool' SU... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review

    Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment

    Max Ride and her five friends grew up in a science lab/prison called the School. They were created as an experiment. An ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Book pages Jungledrop
    Jungledrop

    BOOK OF THE MONTH: It's FIVE STARS all the way for the latest instalment in this magical, middle-grade series by Abi Elphinstone.

    View book
    Featured Books

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews