Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Beyond the Frozen Horizon

by

Beyond the Frozen Horizon Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 10
10 Reviews
Write a Review

The earth is thriving - with wilderness status protecting land and wildlife, and scientific organisations researching new ways to support human life sustainably. Rory's mum is a geologist on one of these projects, and Rory is beyond excited to join her on a work trip to the Arctic. But the project isn't all that it seems, and Rory soon learns what's at stake for the people and animals that live there...



A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of the highly acclaimed WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD and BETWEEN SEA AND SKY . Perfect for fans of THE EXPLORER , THE LAST WILD and WHERE THE RIVER RUNS GOLD

PRAISE FOR BEYOND THE FROZEN HORIZON :

"A truly thought shifting, light filled journal of environmental protection from an author whose awe-filled stories illuminate hearts and minds and light the way for change" Sita Brahmachari, author of Where the River Runs Gold

"A powerful story of hope - a glimpse into a brighter future, a world where we have taken action to protect our fragile planet" Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of Good News

"A beautifully crafted story of wild encounters and conservation; one that will keep pages turning and hearts beating from start to finish" Rachel Delahaye, author of Mort the Meek

"With just the right mix of spookiness, action, intrigue and mystery, Beyond the Frozen Horizon takes Nicola Penfold to the next level. This story is both a warning and a celebration: of nature and the threats to it, and the importance of every single person in the fight for our future." Sinead O'Hart, author of The Eye of the North

"A gripping story that drew me into its icy clutches with a dystopian climate mystery. Polar bear encounters, dog sled rides, blizzards & hugs with arctic foxes, the action is both chilling and thrilling!" Lou Abercrombie, author of Coming Up for Air

"Beautifully evocative with a fantastic cast of characters and, as always, an important yet lightly told message about the necessity of caring for our precious environment" Sharon Gosling, author of The Golden Butterfly

"A sublimely crafted tale of loss, friendship and bravery set against a stunning but stark Arctic backdrop. Nicola allows the reader a glimpse of a future world where society has taken action to tackle climate change and offers us hope that change really can make a difference." Jo Clarke, author of Libby and the Parisian Puzzle

"It's such a stunning book, full of beautiful imagery and a strong message for readers of all ages, to respect the world we are in, both a thrilling and thought-provoking story, and one that of we take action now then we could have hope for the future of our world" Emma Finlayson-Palmer, author of Autumn Moonbeam

"Nicola's reverence for nature and the natural world oozes from the pages of this breathtakingly beautiful story of the world and its response to the Climate Crisis. Thrilling and thought provoking and with powerful ecological messages of stewardship and sustainability - this is storytelling at its very best." Kevin Cobane, teacher

"Beyond the Frozen Horizon is a lesson for us all. We must look beyond our own needs and think about impact on the world as a whole... Rory experiences this first hand and takes her readers on a high stakes adventure that will leave them thinking about their place and impact on the world for a very long time." Kate Heap, Scope for Imagination blog

"An eco adventure, ghost story and love letter for a better world" Gill Pawley, Inkpots

Beyond the Frozen Horizon Reviews | Toppsta

9781788954471

Share on

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

See More Science fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 7 8 9 10 11 14

About Nicola Penfold

Nicola Penfold was born in Merseyside and grew up in Doncaster. She studied English at Cambridge, before completing a Computing Science masters at Imperial College London.  WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD was shortlisted for the first Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize in 2017. It was also selected for SCBWI's 2018 Undiscovered Voices anthology. Nicola lives with h

More about Nicola Penfold

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (5 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)