Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Our Sister, Again

by

Write a Review

On a small island off the Scottish coast, Isla and her family are grieving the loss of her older sister Flora, who died three years ago. Then they're offered the chance to be part of a top-secret trial, which revives loved ones as fully lifelike AI robots using their digital footprint.



Isla has her doubts about Second Chances, but they evaporate the moment the 'new' Flora arrives. This girl is not some uncanny close likeness; she is Flora - a perfect replica. But not everyone on their island feels the same. And as the threats to Flora mount, she grows distant and more secretive. Will Isla be able to protect the new Flora and bring the community back together?


An intriguing, thoughtful and poignant exploration of what makes us 'us', for fans of SHOW US WHO YOU ARE, A POCKETFUL OF STARS and TROOFRIEND .


"A beautiful exploration of grief, hope, and what it means to be human ... This is an outstanding middle-grade debut from one of my favourite authors." - Simon James Green, author of LIFE OF RILEY


"A powerful exploration of grief, technology and what makes us human, Our Sister, Again skilfully combines warm-hearted contemporary with a scifi twist to create a thought-provoking, thrilling read" - Lucy Powrie, author of THE PAPER & HEARTS SOCIETY series.


"Our Sister, Again expertly weaves family drama with high concept sci fi. It's a captivating tale about AI written with real, human heart." - Annabelle Sami, author of LLAMA OUT LOUD


"I loved this book, it was perfect soft sci-fi with very real themes of love and loss. Sophie Cameron has written a wonderful exploration of what it means to be human." - L. D. Lapinski, author of THE STRANGEWORLDS TRAVEL AGENCY


"This book is an absolute triumph. Layers and layers of beautifully crafted intrigue. A book about family, friendship, and what it means to be you. One of those books you read in one day and think about forever." - Wibke Brueggemann, author of LOVE IS FOR LOSERS


"A heart-warming and bittersweet examination of personhood, familial bonds and healing from loss" - Lauren James, author of THE QUIET AT THE END OF THE WORLD


"Our Sister Again is a rich, heartfelt story about family, grief, and what it means to be human told with immense gentleness and skill" - Ciara Smyth, author of THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE


"An intriguing and tender portrayal of a life changing 'what if' - Sophie Cameron is a fabulous storyteller" Polly Ho-Yen, author of BOY IN THE TOWER


"Utterly adored it! Heart-breakingly, life-affirmingly beautiful ... An astonishing story about love, loss & life." - Nicola Penfold, author of WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD


"This book is brilliant. It's poignant - sometimes sad - but at the same time it's a cracking, page-turning sci-fi mystery. And it has the perfect hopeful ending. I loved it." - Perdita Cargill, author of WAITING FOR CALLBACK


"Beautifully written, incredibly well-imagined, and a complex, compelling plot mean this is a definite ***** read" - Sinead O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH


"A truly remarkable story. Sad and life-affirming all at the same time. Asks a lot of big questions. These characters are going to stay with me for a long time." - Lee Newbery, author of THE LAST FIREFOX

Our Sister, Again Reviews | Toppsta

9781788953917

Share on

Featured Book
Magicborn
Magicborn

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The first in a sumptuous new historical-fantasy series from Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of the Cogheart series. Recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Science fiction

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Our Sister, Again'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Magicborn
Magicborn

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The first in a sumptuous new historical-fantasy series from Peter Bunzl, bestselling author of the Cogheart series. Recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

About Sophie Cameron

Sophie Cameron was born in the Scottish Highlands and has lived in Canada, France, Spain and Germany. She has a postgraduate certificate in Creative Writing from Newcastle University and has been shortlisted for the Bath Children's Novel Award. Her first novel,  Out of the Blue,   was featured in SCBWI's Undiscovered Voices 2016.

More about Sophie Cameron

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)