Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Boy Whose Wishes Came True

by

Write a Review

A brilliantly funny wish-fulfilment caper with a huge
heart, from the author of 2021's most talked-about children's debut,
The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh.
10 year old Archie Crumb is having a tough time. Picked-on at
school, picked last for any team, his dad has a new wife and little
daughter and not much time for Archie, and his mum is struggling.
But things start looking up when Archie comes off his bike, bumps
his head, and literally sees stars: his favourite famous football
player standing in front of him, granting him ten wishes.
Archie can't believe his luck. Unlimited ice cream! School to
be closed for the day so he can eat pizza and play on the X-box!
But then he decides to see if these wishes can get bigger and better
... he wishes his dad could only tell the truth and stop fobbing
him off. He wishes to be the star player of a televised football
match at Wembley Stadium. And his ultimate goal: he wishes that
Mum would get better.

Perfect for fans of Lisa Thompson, David Baddiel and Jacqueline
Wilson
Helen Rutter's debut novel The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh
was chosen as a Waterstones Children's Book of the Month

Praise for The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh
'Very funny, very touching, very truthful - a total delight
to read.' Jacqueline Wilson
'Amazing' Noel Fielding
'This incredibly debut tugs at your heartstrings and makes you
laugh out loud in equal measure. I guarantee you'll be cheering
along in the final pages!' Lisa Thompson
'It's Wonder with one-liners.' Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher
'As warm and wise as it is funny.' Shappi Khorsandi
'A laugh out loud story, the like of which I've never read before.'
Kerry Godliman
'This book is a great way of showing children how to be confident
and winners by having a sense of humour and making others laugh.'
Baroness Floella Benjamin
'This book is brilliant. It is funny, wise, kind and exciting.'
Marcus Brigstocke
'So funny and joyful.' Rachel Parris

The Boy Whose Wishes Came True Reviews | Toppsta

9780702300868
  • ISBN: 9780702300868
  • Pub Date: 3rd February 2022
  • Publisher: Scholastic
  • Imprint: Scholastic
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 368

Share on

Featured Book
The Primrose Railway Children
The Primrose Railway Children

BOOK OF THE MONTH - From bestselling author Jacqueline Wilson and inspired by E. Nesbit's timeless classic, The Primrose Railway Children is a gorgeous, heartwarming story of family secrets and new adventures perfect for ages 7+.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'The Boy Whose Wishes Came True'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
The Primrose Railway Children
The Primrose Railway Children

BOOK OF THE MONTH - From bestselling author Jacqueline Wilson and inspired by E. Nesbit's timeless classic, The Primrose Railway Children is a gorgeous, heartwarming story of family secrets and new adventures perfect for ages 7+.

View book

Books by this author

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)