Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

How To Be An Explorer: Outdoor Skills and Know-How for Young Adventurers

by

How To Be An Explorer: Outdoor Skills and Know-How for Young Adventurers Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 3
3 Reviews
Write a Review

A practical guide to outdoor skills and crafts, designed to coax kids away from their screens and discover how to become intrepid explorers. Mountaineers, seafarers, astronauts, cyclists, hikers, divers, gliders, aviators even the most famous and daring explorers of all time began with small-scale adventures that gave them the courage and the ideas to pursue their greatest achievements. This book aims to give young people the know-how and confidence to get out and about with practical tasks and activities, mini-adventures, rustic crafts and by telling some truly inspiring tales of real-life explorers. Throughout, Tiger gives us snippets and anecdotes from his own daring expeditions. Including step-by-step activities like how to light a fire, cooking on a fire, foraging, building shelters, filtering water, tying knots and reading the clouds, children can learn basic bushcraft and survival techniques to practise over and over again. The unique craft activities making wild maps, a racing raft and a kite will spark creativity and encourage imaginative play. Not just a valuable resource for learning practical skills, this is also a book to inspire dreams and show that they can come true with the right mindset, perseverance and resilience. Highly illustrated spreads dotted through the book introduce a selection of real-life historical adventurers, such as Amelia Earheart and Matthew Henson, and describe how they came to accomplish such jaw-dropping feats. AGES: 5 to 11 AUTHOR: Tiger has a natural affinity for outdoors skills and wants to inspire and educate others, of all ages, to spend more time enjoying these pursuits whether that be through adventure sports, outdoor cooking or getting out and exploring their local landscapes. He caught the bug for exploring from his 'crazy' parents and four older sisters, who showed him what was possible and lovingly encouraged his earliest forays in the stunning South Downs National Park in Sussex, UK. Tiger is an accomplished public speaker, having given talks on exploration and nature to audiences of over 250 people, including his old school and local chambers of commerce. This is his first book for GMC Publications. 200 colour photographs, 30 colour illustrations

How To Be An Explorer: Outdoor Skills and Know-How for Young Adventurers Reviews | Toppsta

9781787081178
  • ISBN: 9781787081178
  • Pub Date: 7th October 2021
  • Publisher: Button Books
  • Imprint: Button Books
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number of Pages: 128

Share on

Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 4 10
Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)