Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Ghost Garden

by
,

The Ghost Garden Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 22
22 Reviews
Write a Review

SUMMER 1914

When Fran uncovers a bone in the garden of Longbarrow House on the same afternoon that Leo breaks his leg, it is just the first in a series of strange and unsettling coincidences.
Leo is left immobilised for the rest of the summer and Fran is roped in to keep him company, forced to listen to his foolish theories about the looming threat of war in Europe.
Suddenly the garden she has loved all her life seems to hold threatening shadows of the future, and Fran starts to fear what she and Leo might find next ...
Queen of Historical Fiction, Emma Carroll, makes her Barrington Stoke debut with a powerful, evocative, and spine-tingling story of childhood on the brink of war.

The Ghost Garden Reviews | Toppsta

9781781129005

Share on

Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 32 in the 9 to 12 Series. See all 9 to 12 books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 8 9 10 11 12 13
Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

About Emma Carroll

Emma Carroll is a bestselling middle-grade author, the “Queen of historical fiction” according to BookTrust, and a favourite with children, teachers and critics. 

Emma started out as a secondary school teacher but has also worked as a news reporter, an avocado picker and the person who punches holes  into filofax paper and is now a full-time writer.

Se

More about Emma Carroll

Ratings

  • (10 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (5 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)