Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Dear Justyce

by

Dear Justyce Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

In the stunning sequel to the New York Times bestseller Dear Martin, bestselling author Nic Stone unflinchingly explores the impact of racism and inequality on young Black lives. For readers of Angie Thomas, Danielle Jawando and Jason Reynolds.

Vernell LaQuan Banks and Justyce McAllister grew up a block apart in the Southwest Atlanta neighborhood of Wynwood Heights. Years later, Justyce walks the illustrious halls of Yale University . . . and Quan sits behind bars at the Fulton Regional Youth Detention Center.

Through a series of flashbacks and letters to Justyce, Quan's story takes form. Troubles at home and misunderstandings at school give rise to police encounters and tough decisions. But then there's a dead cop and a weapon with Quan's prints on it. What leads a bright kid down a road to a murder charge? Not even Quan is sure...

"Brilliant" - i News
"An electrifying story" - The Spectator

Praise for Dear Martin :
"Powerful, wrenching" John Green
"A must-read" Angie Thomas
"Raw and Gripping" Jason Reynolds
"Deeply moving" Jodi Picoult

Also by Nic Stone:

Dear Martin
Odd One Out
Jackpot

Dear Justyce Reviews | Toppsta

9781471186936

Share on

Featured Book
The Boys
The Boys

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A beautiful picture book, following the adventures of four boys as they grow up, from the creators of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize winner, The Girls.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 11 12 13 14 15 16
Featured Book
The Boys
The Boys

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A beautiful picture book, following the adventures of four boys as they grow up, from the creators of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize winner, The Girls.

View book
Featured Books

About Nic Stone

Nic Stone is a native of Atlanta and a Spelman College graduate. After working extensively in teen mentoring and living in Israel for a few years, she returned to the United States to write full-time. Dear Martin, her first novel, is loosely based on a series of true events involving the shooting deaths of unarmed African American teenagers. Shaken by the va

More about Nic Stone

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)