Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Raymie Nightingale

by

Raymie Nightingale Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 7
7 Reviews
Write a Review

New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving yet witty story of an unforgettable summer friendship. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson, David Almond and Katherine Rundell.

In her seventh novel, international bestselling author and twice winner of the prestigious Newbery Medal Kate DiCamillo tells a masterful story that blends pathos and humour. Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father - who has run away with a dental hygienist - will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton, but she has to compete with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante with her show-business background and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who's determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship - and challenge them to come to each other's rescue in unexpected ways.

Raymie Nightingale Reviews | Toppsta

9781406363135

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Good Thieves
The Good Thieves

Bestselling and award-winning author, Katherine Rundell, returns with a brilliant new story packed with adventure and excitement, recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight
Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight

Perfect for readers of 7+, Cinders & Sparks is a fresh, funny and fabulous take on Cinderella, for everyone who loved Frozen and Shrek.

View book

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

12th June '16
I read it myself (an adult)
Raymie Nightingale 9781406363135
5 stars
I was very surprised by this book as although it was easy reading, as an adult, it certainly challenged me to push my boundaries of thinking on certain aspects, such as friendship and bonds between both animals and humans. 
As a teacher, I could (and may) use this book as the starting point for many lessons including friendship, family relationships, safety and emotional wellbeing.
I think younger readers will like it because it is about friendship and adventure which  will keep them turning the pages.  
8th June '16
I read it myself (an adult)
Raymie Nightingale 9781406363135
5 stars
Suitable for Year 5 upwards, Raymie Nightingale is a story of three girls who meet at Ida Nee's baton-twirling classes and the friendships forged thereafter.  Ida Nee was a world champion twirler and so the best person to teach Raymie, Beverley and Louisiana how to twirl a baton....unfortunately as it turns out Ida Nee is a reluctant, intolerant, temperamental teacher and doesn't teach a thing which means the lesson time provides the perfect opportunity for the three girls to nurture a friendship. 
The simplicity of the words and structure of the storytelling takes you, the reader, through that friendship, from early beginnings to honest revelations. It is gentle and beautiful, sad and funny, I enjoyed it enormously...I'll update this review after one of my Year 5s has read it 
9th June '16
MatildaW read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Raymie Nightingale 9781406363135
4 stars
I enjoyed this book and it was a quick, fun read. The characters were really interesting and funny, but the storyline wasn't the best. It didn't flow very well, but the ending was brilliant. I would recommend it to fans of Sally Nicholls.
19th June '16
Lydib read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Raymie Nightingale 9781406363135
4 stars
This is a lovely story, i didn't find it hugely exciting but it was nice to read, i found it quite easy to get through. Its a story about 3 girls (The 3 Rancheros)  who become friends when they meet at a dance class, they have several adventures. My favourite was where they tried to rescue a badly treated dog. This book contains a lot about friendship and has some nice messages throughout.
13th June '16
Alisha read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Raymie Nightingale 9781406363135
3 stars
The cover looked boring and the story matched it, definitely not my favourite book to read. the story didn't flow very well and I was waiting for a big drama /something to happen and it didn't.
5th June '16
Bethan read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Raymie Nightingale 9781406363135
3 stars
I read this book in one sitting it took me 1 hour - I read it by myself
I did not like this book very much because:
- It didnt really go anywhere - I kept waiting for something to happen to make it exciting but it never did
- I didnt like the characters - they weren't like anyone I know or like people I can relate to and they didnt seem like real people. 
- nothing gets finished - you dont really know what's happened with everything you just get snippets of each character which leave you wondering what has/will happen but there isnt really any explanation or back story
- I didnt like that it seemed to say it was okay for adults to hit kids with no consequences maybe thats just because its setin the 70s
I think maybe if your an american you might understand the story more - in the uk we dont really have baton twirling and stuff.
I have given 3 stars because it was easy to read and it has some nice parts where animals are rescued which I liked.
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages The Good Thieves
The Good Thieves

Bestselling and award-winning author, Katherine Rundell, returns with a brilliant new story packed with adventure and excitement, recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight
Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight

Perfect for readers of 7+, Cinders & Sparks is a fresh, funny and fabulous take on Cinderella, for everyone who loved Frozen and Shrek.

View book

About Kate DiCamillo

Kate DiCamillo is the author of many beloved books for young readers, including The Tale of Despereaux and Flora and Ulysses: T...

More about Kate DiCamillo

Ratings

    8 stars
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)