Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Wrong Way Summer

by

Write a Review

A moving summer road-trip story for fans of Crenshaw and The Someday Birds



Claire used to love her dad's fantastical stories, especially tales about her absent mom-who could be off with the circus or stolen by the troll king, depending on the day. But now that she's 12, Claire thinks she's old enough to know the truth. When her dad sells the house and moves her and her brother into a converted van, she's tired of the tall tales and refuses to pretend it's all some grand adventure, despite how enthusiastically her little brother embraces this newest fantasy. Claire is faced with a choice: Will she play along with the stories her dad is spinning for her little brother, or will she force her family to face reality once and for all? Equal parts heartwarming and heartbreaking, Wrong Way Summer is a road-trip journey and coming-of-age story about one girl's struggle to understand when a lie is really a lie and when it's something more: hope.

Wrong Way Summer Reviews | Toppsta

9781419736933
  • ISBN: 9781419736933
  • Pub Date: 21st April 2020
  • Publisher: Abrams
  • Imprint: Amulet Books
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number of Pages: 288

Share on

Featured Book
Nura and the Immortal Palace
Nura and the Immortal Palace

BOOK OF THE MONTH - This gripping, magical middle-grade adventure is rooted in Muslim culture and tradition and follows a young girl's journey from modern-day Pakistan into the world of the jinn. Written by debut author M. T. Khan.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Wrong Way Summer'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Nura and the Immortal Palace
Nura and the Immortal Palace

BOOK OF THE MONTH - This gripping, magical middle-grade adventure is rooted in Muslim culture and tradition and follows a young girl's journey from modern-day Pakistan into the world of the jinn. Written by debut author M. T. Khan.

View book
Featured Books

About Heidi Lang

Heidi Lang moved to the west coast to pursue her love of judo, but eventually found a new passion: dogs. She started a dog walking company in Santa Cruz and has been happily patrolling the trails with her pack ever since. If she's not hiking with her pack, she's probably writing or deep into a good book. But no matter where she is, she's almost certainly cov

More about Heidi Lang

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)