Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Thing about Jellyfish

by

The Thing about Jellyfish Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 4
4 Reviews
Write a Review

It's peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person's absence can occupy even more space than their presence did. Suzy is 12 when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it's not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just 5. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there? Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn't just drown - she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy's logical mind than a random drowning - cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death. Suzy's journey to acceptance is quiet - she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it's also bursting with bittersweet humour, heart-breaking honesty, big ideas and small details. Perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting By 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.

The Thing about Jellyfish Reviews | Toppsta

9781447283836

Share on

Featured Book
The Crackledawn Dragon
The Crackledawn Dragon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Abi Elphinstone is back with another magical instalment in the bestselling Unmapped Chronicles series for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 10 11
Featured Book
The Crackledawn Dragon
The Crackledawn Dragon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Abi Elphinstone is back with another magical instalment in the bestselling Unmapped Chronicles series for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

About Ali Benjamin

Ali Benjamin has written for the Boston Globe Magazine , Martha Stewart's Whole Living and Sesame Street . Ali is a member of the New England Science Writers.

When not working, Ali wrangles children, drinks too much coffee, sometimes runs, hangs out with friendly dogs, gazes at electron microscopy images of bugs

More about Ali Benjamin

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)