Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Salt to the Sea

by

Write a Review

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted" -- The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See , bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea
"Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, and Michael Crouch perform mesmerizing narration worthy of Sepetys's spectacular novel. VERDICT Libraries with even the most limited audio budgets will want to invest." - School Library Journal , starred review "The talented narrators excel in capturing the tone of their characters.... [They] work together to create a vivid and well-rounded reading experience, [and] bring forth the truth of the wartime experience." - Booklist , starred review "The four narrators (Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris and Michael Crouch) are superbly cast...The story's plot and pacing translate beautifully to the audio medium." - Publishers Weekly , starred review Featured on NPR's Morning Edition "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."-- The Wall Street Journal "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."-- Entertainment Weekly "Riveting...powerful...haunting."-- The Washington Post "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."-- New York Times Book Review "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."-- Shelf Awareness "Historical fiction at its very, very best."-- The Globe and Mail "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."-- Salt Lake Tribune * "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."-- Booklist * "Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."-- School Library Journal Praise for Between Shades of Gray
A New York Times Notable Book A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book A Publishers Weekly , School Library Journal , Booklist , and Kirkus Best Book iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist A New York Times and International Bestseller "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."-- The Washington Post * "[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-- Booklist

Salt to the Sea Reviews | Toppsta

9780147525437
  • ISBN: 9780147525437
  • Pub Date: 2nd February 2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Imprint: Speak
  • Format: Audio
  • Number of Pages: 0

Share on

Featured Book
Into the Sideways World
Into the Sideways World

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Bestselling author Ross Welford is back with a new moving, funny, thrilling and adventure-filled novel for readers 10+

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Historical fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Salt to the Sea'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Into the Sideways World
Into the Sideways World

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Bestselling author Ross Welford is back with a new moving, funny, thrilling and adventure-filled novel for readers 10+

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

About Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys is a New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Carnegie Medal. She was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. The daughter of a refugee, Ruta is drawn to underrepresented stories of strength through struggle and hopes to give voice to those who weren't able to tell their story. Her award-winning

More about Ruta Sepetys

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)