Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Little Bird Flies

by
,

Little Bird Flies Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

Nominated for the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal

Bridie lives on the remote Scottish island of Tornish, the youngest of three sisters. Although she loves her island, with its wild seas and big skies, she guiltily nurses a secret dream of flight - to America and the freedom of the New World. But her family are struggling under the spiteful oppression of the new Laird, and it seems that even some of the Laird's own household are desperate to leave. When the Laird's full cruelty becomes apparent, there's no more time for daydreams as Bridie needs to help the people she loves escape to safety.
The first in a gripping, dramatic new series from much-loved author, Karen McCombie."This involving, evocative tale, narrated by Bridie with a hint of period language, is a study of rich and poor, offering clearly-drawn characters."- Nicolette Jones, Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week

"There's heart in this Scottish adventure. . . This is (Karen's) best. It has a vivid setting, emotional punch and characters to really care about." - Alex O'Connell, The Times, Children's Book of the Week
"It may all seem a far cry from the "slushy, gushy love songs" of Ally's World. And yet here, as there, McCombie displays her gift, which is to create a narrator who sounds thoroughly convincing, and to inhabit the consciousness of a child." Emily Bearn, The Telegraph
"Little Bird Flies by Karen McCombie is the evocative and beautifully written tale of Bridie (Little Bird) who dreams of a bigger life than the one she's destined for on her tiny Scottish isle of Tornish. With themes of immigration and prejudice and characters you'll root for, this will appeal to fans of Emma Carroll and Marie-Louise Jensen." - Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic

Little Bird Flies Reviews | Toppsta

9780857639103
  • ISBN: 9780857639103
  • Pub Date: 10th January 2019
  • Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Imprint: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 240

Share on

Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Series

This is Book 1 in the Little Bird Flies Series. See all Little Bird Flies books here.

Category

See More Historical fiction

See More Adventure stories

See More General fiction

First Line

"The dream came to me again. The one that often wakes me in the grey, pearl light before dawn."

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

           
Age 9 10 11 12 13
Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

About Karen McCombie

Karen McCombie is the bestselling author of over 80 books for children and teenagers, including the series Ally's World, Angels NextDoor and You, Me and Thing, and has sold over 1 million books worldwide. Before becoming an author she worked for teen magazines such as J17 and Sugar. Originally from Scotland, she lives in London with her husband, young daught

More about Karen McCombie

Books by this illustrator

OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)