Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Secret Suffragette

by

Secret Suffragette Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 9
9 Reviews
Write a Review

Daisy's hero is Florence Nightingale, and she hopes to one day become a nurse just like her. But as a girl growing up in the East End of London in 1912, it seems like all her future holds is dropping out of school to work a tough job in a factory for very little money.
Then Daisy meets the suffragettes, who are fighting for the rights of women and the poor. They show her that she might be able to achieve her dreams after all. But being a suffragette is dangerous, and Daisy must risk getting in trouble with her dad, neighbours and even the police if she wants to do her bit.

Perfect for fans of Opal Plumstead and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Secret Suffragette Reviews | Toppsta

9781783448333

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond
Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Take to the skies in this thrilling new series from author Alex English for ages 8+. (BEWARE: THERE WILL BE PIRATES!)

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 4 5 7 8 10 11
Featured Book
Book pages Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond
Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Take to the skies in this thrilling new series from author Alex English for ages 8+. (BEWARE: THERE WILL BE PIRATES!)

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

About Barbara Mitchelhill

Barbara Mitchelhill was born in Rochdale and trained as a teacher. While she was teaching, she began writing for BBC children's TV and went on to write for educational publishers, before writing novels for children. She makes school visits all over the country, and enjoys appearing at literary festivals and talking to teachers and librarians, some as far awa

More about Barbara Mitchelhill

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)