Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks!

by

Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 9
9 Reviews
Write a Review

The fourth title in Gary Northfield's exciting, action-packed and hysterically funny series brimming with entertaining Greek facts.

In the much-anticipated fourth Julius Zebra book, Grapple with the Greeks!, demi-god Heracles promises Julius and his chums a great reward if they can help him to find the lost Golden Apple. On this madcap new adventure, our unlikely heroes will confront the Minotaur in the labyrinth, trick a one hundred-headed dragon at the Garden of Hesperides and a dramatic visit to King Midas leads to a daring rescue attempt in the depths of the Underworld. But what will the ever-watchful gods on Mount Olympus have to say about their antics? A hugely enjoyable addition to this internationally popular series.

Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! Reviews | Toppsta

9781406380965

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages That's not my flamingo...
That's not my flamingo...

Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet flamingos with fuzzy tails, shiny beaks and soft wings.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries
Dork Diaries

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid you NEED this series in your life! Recommended for ages 8+

View book

Series

This is Book 4 in the Julius Zebra Series. See all Julius Zebra books here.

Category

See More Humorous stories

First Line

"Oi!" cried Julius at the stranger. "You can't just go around chucking my friends through the air!"

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

14th November '18
Jemt read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
5 stars
I like this book because it has historical facts and funny fiction.  My favourite character is Julius because he goes to the underworld and saves his brother.  I recommend this book for boys and girls.
5th November '18
kenzie.J read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
5 stars
mckenzie loved the book. and loved telling me all about it. he found it intresting and easy to read 
18th December '18
Chelseaa read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
5 stars
I thought this book was very funny and full of historical things, my favourite character is zulius because he made me laugh. I'm looking forward to the release of julius zebra joke book! I would reccomend this book to boys and girls 
11th April '19
Eilidh C read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
5 stars
This is a very funny book! It is set in Roman times and is about Julius Zebra and his friends who get set a task by Hercules (son of Zeus) to find a golden apple. Julius Zebra's friends are: Lucia a crocodile, Rufus a giraffe, Felix an antelope, Cornelius a warthog, Brutus Julius's brother and Milus a lion. I like the comedy bits, and the explanations and the activities at the back of the book. The illustrations are very funny and I would recommend this book for ages 8+.
17th November '18
BradleyF9 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
4 stars
Julius is a talking zebra that has adventures at different time is history and this book is quite the adventure. I really liked the character Heracles in this book, he is the son of Zeus but i didnt think that was true to begin with. I found Julius zebra asking for explanation alot of the time a bit annoying but as there are other characters in the story the book has a team spirit feel to it and i enjoyed reading to hear of the outcome to their antics. 
5th January '19
Minky read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
4 stars
Julius  goes on a quest for Hercules. I loved  it
13th November '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
4 stars
From the zingy front cover to the comic-strip explanation of the the cosmos at the end, this book ticks a lot of boxes and covers a lot of ground. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Barry Loser and Wimpy Kid, it's a whistle-stop adventure full of crazy antics, daft humour and historical hysterics.

Many readers will have followed Julius Zebra's earlier adventures with the Romans and Egyptians, but for a newcomer like me the handy recap and introduction to the main characters at the start was ideal. In short, Julius the Gladiator has a lot going on!  Even before he gets involved with a host of mythical Greeks, trouble is brewing - the problem with your gang of pals (including Cornelius the know-it-all warthog and Felix the rock-collecting antelope) being a mixed pack of predators and prey.... Milus the lion always wants eat the others. The main story involves Heracles sending the gang off to find a golden apple or be sent to Hades.  Despite not feeling like a hero, nothing fazes our Julius for long, even an impossible quest. In fact, he makes it all sound easy - "Let's grab the golden apple, head back to one of those nice tavernas and have ourselves a little holibob'.

Of course, it's not quite as straight forward as that. Plenty of twists and turns takes us on a crazy ride around the highlights of Ancient Greek myths, packing in lots of adventure but always in its own trademark snarky, irreverent style.  The Ancient Greeks definitely had some of the best baddies - hundred-headed dragons, the Minotaur and Talos, the giant bronze automaton guarding Crete, or as Julius puts it 'IT'S A MASSIVE BLOKE AND HE'S CHUCKING ROCKS AT US!!' 

In short, a brilliant quick read that entertains, educates and leaves you on a high wanting more.  I can't wait for Julius Zebra's next adventure!
15th November '18
dkathurima read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
4 stars
Julius and his friends are enjoying their time at home when they meet Heracles who wants their help with a task. He needs help to find a golden apple so of course what happens next is an adventure through ancient Greece where they enter a labyrinth and even Hades itself. This book is so funny that you can’t help but laugh out loud!!

All the black and white pictures are really funny. You must read the speech bubbles they make you laugh throughout. I love the way the pictures are a part of the story and make it an even better read. There are some activities in the book which are great to do.
12th November '18
JH23 read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks! 9781406380965
3 stars
 Julius Zebra is a time trotting zebra who goes to different bits of history, this time The Ancient Greeks. In this story some of the characters from the Greek myths, like Heracles and the minotaur, also make an appearance. In this story Julius and his friends are on a mission to find the Golden Apple. I think this book reveals everything about the plot too early (and it is of course a bit stupid, for my age, but I knew that before I read it!) I had read all the others and I think I preferred them. I still like the cartoon or comic style of pictures as I think they add to the book and there are some funny jokes but sadly I think I am too old for these books anymore. I did like the glossary and information at the back and I think someone about 7 or 8 would enjoy these books.
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages That's not my flamingo...
That's not my flamingo...

Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet flamingos with fuzzy tails, shiny beaks and soft wings.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries
Dork Diaries

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid you NEED this series in your life! Recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Gary Northfield

Gary Northfield has been writing and drawing comics since 2002. His comic-strip Derek the Sheep famously appeared in The Beano. Gary has also created comics for National Geographic Kids magazine, The Phoenix, The Dandy, The DFC, Horrible Histories magazine, Horrible Science magazine and The Magical World of...

More about Gary Northfield

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (4 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)