Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

by
,

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 10
10 Reviews
Write a Review

The most spellbinding new children's fantasy series of 2019, in a stunning hardback edition with beautiful black-and-white inside illustrations by Sarah Warburton. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor .

Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things - like keys, or socks, or wooden teeth. Useful, but not exactly exciting . . .
Then the most powerful witch in the world of Starfell turns up at Willow's door and asks for her help. A whole day - last Tuesday to be precise - has gone missing. Completely. And, without it, the whole universe could unravel.
Now Willow holds the fate of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . Can she save the day - by finding the lost one?

Step into Starfell, a world crackling with warmth, wit and magic, perfect for readers aged 8-12.

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day Reviews | Toppsta

9780008308391

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

Series

This is Book 3 in the Starfell Series. See all Starfell books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

18th April '19
Annabeth read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
I enjoyed this book because Willow thought she was little and her magic was unimportant but that couldn't be further from the truth. I loved the crazy names and it showed how important each day is and what chaos can happen if one goes missing! I want a monster under the bed too.
18th May '19
Kaylan read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
I have not read anything by this author before so i wasn't sure if i would like it but it was really good. Willow is so lovable because she thinks shes unimportant and believes her witchy powers are less amazing than the rest of her family. However her story and the storyline of the book is enchanting and full of colourful characters and all things magical. I give it five out of five stars and look forward to the next book!
27th January '19
Darth read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
Starfell is a place where some people are born with magical abilities. Willow is the younger sister in a family of witches, but unlike the others, her magical ability is merely to find 'lost' things. One day, a powerful witch called Moreg Vaine asks for her help to find Tuesday, a day that has been lost to all the people in the land. This is the start of a fantastic adventure with dragons, trolls, wizards, more witches, a forgotten teller and a monster/cat. I really loved it. I really enjoyed the friendships that were made along the way and it was lovely to see Willow grow more confident in her abilites. I'd also like a go on her broomstick, it sounded amazing. 
13th May '19
I read it myself (an adult)
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
This is such a special book:  a truly mesmerising read!  I utterly adored everything about it:  the superb world-building, the colourful characters, the fast-paced action and the warm humour.
Willow Moss is born into a family of witches, but does not have any of their exciting powers.  Finding lost things does not seem a very important magical trait until a whole day – Tuesday to be precise – goes missing, and the most powerful, feared and revered witch in Starfell comes asking for help!
How can Willow refuse? Whilst on the outside she is sensible, deep down she craves an exciting adventure.  And an adventure she must have to save the world.  Of course, she needs to take her only friend to help:  the monster under the bed, Oswin.  Oh my goodness:  Oswin!  He is just brilliant – grumpy, easily offended, unwittingly hilarious… and did I mention? – absolutely adorable! 
Will Willow be able to find the Lost Day?  Who is responsible for taking it?  Will the magic-loathing Brothers of Wol thwart her mission?  To find the answers, the reader must journey with Willow and her companions on their incredible action-packed adventure through Starfell which crackles with action and sparkles with humour.  What’s not to love about engine-powered brooms, a portal cloak, cloud mountains, tree houses and lost spells!  The landscape of Starfell is vividly detailed and wonderfully imaginative, each part having its own unique character and inhabitants, from the broom-making part-elves of Radditch to the forbidden City of Beady Hill to the trolls of Troll Country.
Willow is just perfect!  She is kind-hearted, helpful, brave and adventurous.  She does not need her magical power to find some truly wonderful companions along her way including the kind-hearted cloud dragon, Feathering; the eccentric visionary, Nolin Sometimes; and, Calamity the sensitive hygiene-conscious troll.
There are some powerful messages in this story about discrimination, segregation and misuse of power, encased in a delightfully enchanting story full of friendship, determination and the power of good.  
This is a perfect read for children of 8+ who I’m sure will adore the magical world of Starfell and its inhabitants.
11th March '19
SnipSkye 2 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
Willow Moss has two older sisters Camille and Juniper who was born with emerald green eyes who inherited magical powers from their mother in a family of powerful witches. Camille can lift things with her mind and Juniper can blow things up. Willow Moss who has brown eyes unlike her sister has a different magical ability, she takes after her father for finding lost things such as Keys, Socks and even Wooden teeth. Her magical gift is very useful but her magic is not very interesting until one day an all powerful witch turned up needing Willow's help. A whole day – last Tuesday has gone missing. Can Willow use he different magical ability to solve the puzzle. Amazing book for my creative artistic daughter who also has a different ability for seeing small details. I would recommend this book for anyone who has a very good imagination.
24th May '19
MadGough read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
I started reading this book just over two weeks ago and I thought it would take me a really long time but I loved it so much that I have read some every day before and after school. The story is so magical but feels like it could be real, a bit like when I read the Harry Potter books.
The best part about the story is Willow, she is Witch that can find lost things but everyone thinks she is the least powerful of all her sisters. She ends up been able to prove them all wrong by finding a missing day. I have enjoyed this book so much that I would like to read more books by Dominique Valante, the way she tells the story means I feel like i'm inside it. 

A little feedback from Mum: My daughter had never read any books by this Author before so I think when she initially saw the size of the book was a little put off. She gave it a go and as soon as she was a few pages in she was hooked. I found her every morning reading a few pages and soon as she came home from school she was rushing to get changed so she could read some more. I think any Author who can stir up that level of excitement is quite rare.
This book has a far more complex story line than most children's books aimed at this particular age range however I think that is what captured her attention and kept her going back for more.
24th May '19
Leonapie read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
This book is amazing and as a lover of nevermoor this was just as good. Willow is a witch who has sisters who think she is less powerful than them by it’s a story that proves them wrong. She can find lost things which is a very useful thing to do. I look forward to reading more of these books and has become one of my favourites. Thank you for giving me chance to review it  
10th April '19
Spudley read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
I really enjoyed reading this book. The front cover is a great design. I like the colours and the cat peeping out of Granny Flossy's bag. 
The story is magical and everyone should read it. I would like to read more books from this author, she is fantastic at writing books.
10th April '19
I read it myself (an adult)
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
5 stars
Absolutely AWESOME is the best way to describe this debut book. 

Highly recommended and thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. 

Looking forward to reading more from the fabulous Dominique Valente. 
26th May '19
I read it to Sunshine aged 8 aged 8
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308391
4 stars
We were excited to read this book, magic & adventure. There was lots of adventure which we enjoyed. However we found the 1st chapter a bit boring & we nearly didn't want to read anymore. So glad we persevered as Willow an underdog witch persevered even though she thought she wasn't good enough to work out what had happened to Tuesday & get it back. We had worked it out by the end so last chapter wasn't very exciting. 
We have a reluctant reader so would have given up at the 1st chapter if she'd been reading it herself.
Fabulous illustrations & wonderful characters. Well worth a read.
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Dominique Valente

Born in South Africa, Dominique Valente now lives in the Sussex countryside with her husband and their English Bulldog, Fudge. She writes bestselling women's fiction under her pseudonym, Lily Graham, and is a former journalist for publications like Business Day and Woman & Home.

...

More about Dominique Valente

About Sarah Warburton

Sarah has many books, working for a large variety of publishers. With author Hiawyn Oram, she created the Orchard Books' character of Rumblewick - the witch's familiar - employed by a very unwilling witch. Both in picture book and fiction this character has sold worldwide and is...

More about Sarah Warburton

Ratings

  • (9 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)