Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Dandelion Dormice: A Story of Cultural Acceptance

by

The Dandelion Dormice: A Story of Cultural Acceptance Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

The Dandelion Dormice family are different from everyone else on Rainbow Street. Because of who they are, they must sleep more than the others. But this year, when she wakes up, Donna wants to know what she has missed.

This story can be used to open discussion with young children during religious education and PSHE to accept that some of the other children they know might not do the same things that they do, such as celebrate Christmas, Diwali, Ramadan or Passover, due to their family's faith.
The Rainbow Street books are all aimed at 4- to 6-year-old children, using colourful pictures of animals to tell stories that share the common theme of acceptance and could equally be used at home and in school to discuss all forms of difference and diversity.
By sharing the Rainbow Street Series of books with young children, the aim is to make gender diversity no big deal and no different to accepting and respecting ethnic diversity, religious diversity and forms of neurodiversity. Stories in the series cover topics ranging from gender identity and adoption by same-sex parents, through to single fatherhood and it being ok to live alone in old age.
As with all of its books, the publisher - Your Stories Matter - aims to help people know they are not alone with what makes them different. If a young person or adult can relate to a story, it gives them hope and encourages them to share their concerns. The publisher aims to provide free teaching resources for all of its books that can be used in schools, to help improve understanding and celebrate differences.

The Dandelion Dormice: A Story of Cultural Acceptance Reviews | Toppsta

9781909320741

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 6 in the Rainbow Street Series. See all Rainbow Street books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 7
Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

About Nick Rolfe

Nick Rolfe is a 44-year-old rock-music-loving mother, wife and teacher. Rolfe has taught across England from Foundation Stage up to Year 7 (Sixth Grade in US). As a SENCo, she has worked with challenging children with behaviour and learning difficulties. She has worked in a variety of primary schools, including a Sikh faith school and a Pupil reintegration u

More about Nick Rolfe

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)