Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Basil and Sage: Does a Mother Need to Be Female?

by

Write a Review

Sage happily lives with just his dad, Basil. Then he falls out with his best friend, because Ted thinks not having a mum is silly. Why would Ted think that and can they ever be friends again?

Part of the Rainbow Street Series promoting gender awareness, Basil and Sage is a story that questions whether a man can provide the role of mother, and vice-versa. In modern single-parent families, many children will compare themselves to so-called traditional families where both mother and father are present. The idea that the father goes to work and the mother stays at home to look after the children is outdated, and this book aims to put that stereotype right through a gentle story aimed at very young children.
The Rainbow Street books are all aimed at 4- to 6-year-old children, using colourful pictures of animals to tell stories of gender identity. They all share the common theme of acceptance and could equally be used at home and in school to discuss all forms of difference and diversity.
By sharing the Rainbow Street Series of books with young children, the aim is to make gender diversity no big deal and no different to accepting and respecting ethnic diversity, religious diversity and forms of neurodiversity. Stories in the series cover topics ranging from gender identity and adoption by same-sex parents, through to single fatherhood and it being ok to live alone in old age.
As with all of its books, the publisher - Your Stories Matter - aims to help people know they are not alone with what makes them different. If a young person or adult can relate to a story, it gives them hope and encourages them to share their concerns. The publisher aims to provide free teaching resources for all of its books that can be used in schools, to help improve understanding and celebrate differences.

Basil and Sage: Does a Mother Need to Be Female? Reviews | Toppsta

9781909320703

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 3 in the Rainbow Street Series. See all Rainbow Street books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Basil and Sage: Does a Mother Need to Be Female?'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

About Nick Rolfe

Nick Rolfe is a 44-year-old rock-music-loving mother, wife and teacher. Rolfe has taught across England from Foundation Stage up to Year 7 (Sixth Grade in US). As a SENCo, she has worked with challenging children with behaviour and learning difficulties. She has worked in a variety of primary schools, including a Sikh faith school and a Pupil reintegration u

More about Nick Rolfe

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)