Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Charlie and Me: 421 Miles From Home

by

Charlie and Me: 421 Miles From Home Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 15
15 Reviews
Write a Review

Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019.

'A marvellous novel, by turns funny and sad .... an empathetic story of kindness and loss' The Sunday Times
'I LOVED this book. Funny, sad and beautifully written' Lisa Thompson, author of THE GOLDFISH BOY
'Funny, tender, sad and huge of heart' Phil Earle, author of DEMOLITION DAD
'Mark Lowery is an exciting new voice in children's fiction' Elen Caldecott, author of HOW KIRSTY JENKINS STOLE THE ELEPHANT
Thirteen-year-old Martin and his younger brother Charlie are on a very special journey. They're going to be travelling 421 miles all the way from Preston to the very tip of Cornwall. They're hoping to catch a glimpse of the dolphin that regularly visits the harbour there. But is that the only reason they are going?
It's a journey that's full of challenges and surprises. Martin adores his brother Charlie but he's not like ordinary kids. He's one in a million. He was born far too early, and ought to have died. And cheeky, irrepressible, utterly unique Charlie is always keeping Martin on his toes - especially on this crazy trip they are now on. Martin is doing his best to be a good big brother, but it's hard when there's something so huge coming once they get to Cornwall ...

Charlie and Me: 421 Miles From Home Reviews | Toppsta

9781848126220

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

       
Age 8 9 11
Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About Mark Lowery

Mark Lowery Biography
Mark Lowery is a small man with a big head. He sings like an ostrich, plays the guitar like a squid and speaks Italian like an overcooked lasagne.  

His first two books - Socks Are Not Enough and Pants Are Everything - were both short-listed for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. In 2015 he released the first Roman Gar

More about Mark Lowery

Ratings

  • (14 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)