Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Star in the Jar

by
,

Star in the Jar Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 3
3 Reviews
Write a Review

An enchanting bedtime story for toddlers, perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers' How To Catch a Star.

Up high, in the dark, dark sky . . . a message: LOST, ONE SMALL STAR.
When a little boy stumbles across a special star, he puts it in a jar and takes it on adventures. Together with his big sister, he takes his special treasure with him everywhere - to the cinema, to the swimming pool and even to the toilet!
But the poor star is sad and misses its home . . . Can the little boy and his big sister find a way to send the star safely back?
Sarah Massini's artwork glows with warmth and humour and perfectly captures the friendship between the two siblings in this warm-hearted bedtime book. Told from the perspective of the big sister, this is the perfect picture book for siblings to share and read together. The short text and warm tone is ideal for toddlers aged 2 years and up.
'A cheery, warm-hearted tale, beautifully told' - The Guardian
'Hay carefully keeps an even tone, never letting the whimsy descend into treacle and always maintaining a sense of wonder. Massini's lively and imaginative illustrations beautifully complement and enhance the text, providing additional insights into the children's activities and emotions' - Kirkus Reviews
'Perfect for sharing just before sleep but too enjoyable to be restricted to bedtime reading only' - Red Reading Hub
Sam Hay grew up in Scotland in a family of bookworms. She always wanted to be a writer and filled endless notebooks with stories and poems. She trained as a journalist in Edinburgh and went on to work in newspapers for the BBC, before deciding to move to Wales and write her first children's book. Since then she's had more than 30 children's books published including Do Not Wash this Bear, Princess Ice Palace and Dinosaurs United and the Cowardly Custard Pirates for Egmont UK.
Drawing has been a life-long habit for Sarah Massini which has seen her through careers in corporate design, children's book design and now as an illustrator. She has illustrated several picture books including Books Always Everywhere, Zac and Zeb and the Make Believe Birthday Party and, most recently, a stunning edition of The Velveteen Rabbit. Sarah lives in Sussex with her husband, young son and her utterly mad terrier Tess, who keeps guard as she draws.

Star in the Jar Reviews | Toppsta

9781405284301

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries: Spectacular Superstar
Dork Diaries: Spectacular Superstar

Welcome to Nikki Maxwell's ADORKABLE world in the fourteenth installment of the bestselling Dork Diaries series. Perfect illustrated fiction for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates. For ages 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Nevertell
Nevertell

A gorgeous, snowy middle-grade adventure, set in the wilds of Siberia, full of magic and wonder, for ages 9+

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 4 5
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries: Spectacular Superstar
Dork Diaries: Spectacular Superstar

Welcome to Nikki Maxwell's ADORKABLE world in the fourteenth installment of the bestselling Dork Diaries series. Perfect illustrated fiction for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates. For ages 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Nevertell
Nevertell

A gorgeous, snowy middle-grade adventure, set in the wilds of Siberia, full of magic and wonder, for ages 9+

View book

About Sam Hay

Sam Hay grew up in Scotland. A former journalist, she has written several children's books including Billy Angel and Bumble the Brave Kitten. She lives with her husband, two children and several pets in a small house with a big garden. Simon Cooper has illustrated many children's books, including the award-winning Ghost of Uncle Arvie. As well as drawing, he...

More about Sam Hay

About Sarah Massini

Ann Meek lives in Steeple Claydon, Buckinghamshire, where she works as a Learning Support Assistant at a primary school. I'M SPECIAL, I'M ME! won the Little Tiger Press New Author Prize 2003. Sarah Massini lives in East Sussex with her husband and son. This is her first picture book for Little Tiger Press....

More about Sarah Massini

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)