Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Being Miss Nobody

by

Being Miss Nobody Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 15
15 Reviews
Write a Review

Rosalind hates her new secondary school. She's the weird girl who doesn't talk. The Mute-ant. And it's easy to pick on someone who can't fight back. So Rosalind starts a blog - Miss Nobody; a place to speak up, a place where she has a voice. But there's a problem... Is Miss Nobody becoming a bully herself?

Being Miss Nobody Reviews | Toppsta

9781474927277

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages That's not my flamingo...
That's not my flamingo...

Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet flamingos with fuzzy tails, shiny beaks and soft wings.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries
Dork Diaries

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid you NEED this series in your life! Recommended for ages 8+

View book

Category

See More School stories

See More General fiction

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

26th September '17
Mads1811 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
Madeleine read this book very quickly she loved the main character. It was an easy read for a 9 year who is becoming a reluctant reader
18th November '17
OliviaS read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
It is like a rollercoaster with SEB and his cancer . I would recommend it for nine's and over. I couldn't stop reading it and told my teacher and the librarian about it because it was so GOOD!!!!!!
18th February '19
I read it myself (an adult)
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
This book was amazing. It  also has so much meaning and so much detail. This was my favourite book!  The descriptions of the characters and  scenery were very good- I had a clear image of what was going on. This book takes you on an emotianal roller-coster. Rosilind -the main character-  can't speak, not the way you can't speak at all, it is the words that just get jumbled up Rosilind's head.Except when she  starts a blog called ' miss nobody' ,which is about speaking up to bullies, but is she is starting to become a bully herself, and is it on purpose?  

Overall, I loved this book and I would definatlly recomend to anyone.
24th January '18
Peacehaven Little Library Middle Grade read it themselves aged 9 to 12
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
This book has gone down very well with my readers aged 9-12. The characters are hugely relatable and their experiences chimed with children who have experienced or witnessed bullying. There's quite an emotional rollercoaster to go through in this book, and some of the kids found it very sad and, at times, hard to read. But the illness and bullying were depicted accurately and sensitively and gave the kids a lot to think about and discuss. The lighter notes in the book lift it beautifully and overall it was a definite hit. 
30th September '17
I read it myself (an adult)
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
This book was so relatable! I was able to read it quickly and easily, as it is fast-paced and full of twists. Teaching you about people with Special Needs, how people with Selective Mutism live their lives, and of course the everyday dramas of high school. This book brings up the all-important topic of bullying and how the effects can be devastating. Rosalind us such an inspirational character who you pity at some points, and may hate when she says such hurtful stuff on her blog. I cried a lot when Seb died which just tells you how well written and moving this book is. I am just glad it had a happy ending. I recommend for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy. 
27th January '19
hpbooklover read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
I found this book really emotional about Rosalind's brother but also about the way that she was changing character. I recommend this to people aged 10 and over.
17th September '17
I read it myself (an adult) & to Sindy aged 10 aged 10
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
I loved this book. It made me cry and laugh and it is so believable - I felt like I was back at school. A wonderful voice that makes for an unputdownable read! Highly recommend.
23rd September '17
I read it myself (an adult)
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
I really enjoyed reading this book. It's a mature book that would engage girls aged 10+ and immerses them in a story that makes you laugh, cry, and understand what's its like being a teenager who can't seem to speak up. The main character is a selective mute, and has a dying brother-plenty of problems there, and then she starts at a secondary school. Quickly picked on by bullies she eventually makes a blog that speaks out of behalf of all the children being bullied in her school. This snowballs in to nasty cyberbullying, and the situation is made worse by her brother dying. 
I thought this was well written, thought provoking, and did deal with issues well in the book that girls may be experiencing right now.  Highly recommend. 
8th October '17
I read it myself (an adult)
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
Moving to secondary school can be a daunting prospect for any child, but for Rosalind it’s terrifying. It’s not as if her selective mutism is just going to disappear over summer, however much therapy she has. 

Sick of the constant bullying which is making every day a misery, Rosalind takes to the anonymity of social media to speak out on behalf of all of the children, who, like her, are targeted by the bullies. But having found her “voice” after years of not having one, can she control it?

Tamsin Winter’s well-rounded, believable characters, in a gripping story about a child who can’t speak out, bullying and social media, with a heartbreaking subplot, combine to create a hard hitting, humorous and ultimately hopeful journey. Being Miss Nobody tackles the effects of bullying and the dangers of social media brilliantly. Emma Trithart’s thought-provoking illustrations capture Rosalind's anger & frustration at not being able to get her words out, and are a huge aide to reader’s understanding of her condition, enabling real emotional connection & empathy.

I adored Rosalind’s little brother, her caring neighbour and the library squad; it’s great to see the School Library given so much importance. The bullies were easy to dislike, with groupings that I could relate to from my own school days, and that are, my 13 year old son informs me, “probably in every school in the country.” 

I laughed and cried at this beautifully written book, and I can’t wait to see where Tamsin’s next book will take me and who I’ll meet in it. 

I honestly believe this book should be in every school library, whether primary or secondary.It has such an important message about bullying, the power of social media, and how easily it’s use can spin out of control.

Great for fans of Jo Cotterill, Lara Williamson, Lisa Thompson and Stewart Foster.

Huge thanks to Usbourne and Toppsta for my review copy for my School Bookshelf.
28th September '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
5 stars
Rosalind has selective mutism and can't talk in front of people or struggles so much she can perhaps only get a single word or two out instead. She is fine around her mum and dad but in school it has always marked her out as the weird one and gotten her bullied. However, she is a very bright girl who loves to read and play with her brother whom unfortunately has leukaemia.

After starting her new high school, she soon gets bullied by Connor, Maisy and others whom do and say despicable things to her as thwy know she wont fight back or speak up for herself...

Miss Nobody was a great book and I really enjoy it for the uniqueness of Rosalinds life situation and how she manages to cope with her SM. Tamsin is a great new author to watch for sure!
20th September '17
I read it to Rory aged 10 aged 10 & to Addie aged 7 aged 7
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
4 stars
We all loved this book. I enjoyed reading it as an adult as much as my children did. Rory struggles with friendships sometimes so he could relate in some ways to the story and main character Rosalind, who has selective mutism. Parts of the story are quite hard hitting however the depiction of the issues (including mental illness and cyber bullying) were accurate and gave us a lot of conversation starters. 
There are lighter points in the story including Rosalind's brother who brought a lot of smiles. 
We think this book is an important read for children (probably aged  9+) especially to teach that there is such a fine line between speaking out, standing up for yourself and becoming a bully yourself. 
23rd September '17
swalker read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
4 stars
What a great story for someone like me who has just started secondary school. Although I find making friends very easily I now have a better understanding that not everyone finds it as easily as I do.
I think it's a lovely story for anyone my age to read.
5th December '17
Casper Readalot read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
4 stars
I saw this book on a Toppsta giveaway and it sounded really good. I was lucky to win the book and I'm really glad I did.

I've just started secondary school like Rosalind so I could relate to her a lot, even though I'm a boy and she was a girl. I was nervous about starting my new school, it was even worse for Rosalind because she couldn't talk to people at school and they thought she was weird.

Being Miss Nobody was really good, even though it was really sad in some parts and the bullies made me angry.

I would definitely recommend this book to other kids who are 10, 11 or 12. My mum has read it too, she's been recommending it to the kids in her Year 6 class.
21st November '18
Aamir read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
4 stars
This is one incredibly roller coaster of a book.

Its written in such a way that you can feel for the character and its upsetting at parts and makes you feel a bit angry at how they can treat her that way.
It tackles bullying and other issues as well.

It was unbelievable how the one who was getting bullied then turned into one.
25th May '18
jony read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
Being Miss Nobody 9781474927277
2 stars
My sister was reading this book so I decided to read it aswell.   I found it entertaining and easy to read, but it was sad to see Miss Nobody go from being the bullied to becoming a bully her self. She didn't learn from her own experiences unfortunately
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages That's not my flamingo...
That's not my flamingo...

Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet flamingos with fuzzy tails, shiny beaks and soft wings.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries
Dork Diaries

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid you NEED this series in your life! Recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Tamsin Winter

Tamsin Winter studied English Literature and Creative Writing before working in advertising, travelling and teaching in Singapore for a year. She now works as a secondary school English teacher in Leicestershire and lives with her young son. Being Miss Nobody is Tamsin's first novel....

More about Tamsin Winter

Books by this author

Ratings

  • (10 Reviews)
  • (4 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)