The Swifts
Compare Prices Add to Wishlist

The Swifts

by
,

The Swifts Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 39
39 Reviews
Write a Review

'A stunning debut . . . laugh-out-loud funny' - Observer

Discover the hilarious New York Times bestselling mystery adventure perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Lemony Snicket.

On the day they are born, each Swift is brought before the Family Dictionary. They are given a name and a definition, and it is assumed they will grow up to match. Unfortunately, Shenanigan Swift has other ideas.

So what if her relatives all think she's destined to turn out as a troublemaker, just because of her name? Shenanigan knows she can be whatever she wants - pirate, explorer or even detective.

Which is lucky, really, because when one of the Family tries to murder Arch-Aunt Schadenfreude, someone has to work out whodunit.

With the help of her sisters and cousin, Shenanigan grudgingly takes on the case, but more murders, a hidden treasure and an awful lot of suspects make thing seriously complicated.

Can Shenanigan catch the killer before the whole household is picked off? And in a Family where definitions are so important, can she learn to define herself?

Winner of the Nero Book Award and the Barnes & Noble Children's Book Award, and nominated for the Carnegie Medal.

The Swifts Reviews | Toppsta

9780241536452

Share on

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 1 in the The Swifts Series. See all The Swifts books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 6 7 8 9 10 11

About Beth Lincoln

Beth Lincoln (Author)
Beth Lincoln was raised in a former Victorian railway station in the North of England. Her childhood fears included porcelain dolls, the Durham panther, and wardrobes that looked at her funny. She grew neither tall nor wise, and never learned to play an instrument - but she did write stories, a bad habit that has persist

More about Beth Lincoln

About Claire Powell

Claire Powell is a designer and illustrator based in London. After spending several years working as a design director in the world of channel re-branding, Claire is branching out into the world of picture books with this fantastic first series.

More about Claire Powell

Ratings

  • (30 Reviews)
  • (7 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)