Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Eternity Engine

by
,

Eternity Engine Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 5
5 Reviews
Write a Review

The final instalment in the breathtaking Orphans of the Tide trilogy, which The Times calls 'Unputdownable'.

The seas have parted to reveal the remains of humanity's lost empire and opened a path from Shipwreck Island to the Enemy's City. Now only Ellie Lancaster and her orphan friends can prevent a terrible war.

As Kate marches north at the head of her army, panic infests the City as the Enemy's strength grows. For the parting of the seas has also uncovered the Eternity Engine, a dreadful machine from before the Drowning, with the power to remake the world - or destroy it forever . . .

The critically-acclaimed Orphans of the Tide trilogy reaches its spine-tingling climax and dramatic conclusion. Perfect reading for fans of His Dark Materials or Vashti Hardy.


Praise for Orphans of the Tide:

'Unputdownable' - The Times

'Enthralling' - The Daily Express

'Sumptuously atmospheric . . . tirelessly inventive'
- The Daily Telegraph

'Gripping' - The Guardian

'Energetic and inventive' - Sunday Times

'Gripping and original' - The Observer

'Singularly brilliant'
- Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars and The Mercies

'Compellingly inventive and unpredictable' - Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild

'A terrific debut of strange myths and dark secrets' - The Bookseller (Editor's Choice)

Eternity Engine Reviews | Toppsta

9780241535608

Share on

Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 3 in the Orphans of the Tide Series. See all Orphans of the Tide books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

About Struan Murray

Struan Murray is Scottish and grew up in Edinburgh, the youngest of a large, rowdy family of redheads. His first publication was a drawing in Pingu Magazine, aged seven.  Orphans of the Tide   is his second. When he's not writing, Struan is a lecturer at the University of Oxford.

More about Struan Murray

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)