The Good Turn
Compare Prices Add to Wishlist

The Good Turn

by

The Good Turn Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 23
23 Reviews
Write a Review

A thrilling, pacy adventure about friendship, bravery and real-life injustice from the award-winning author of High Rise Mystery

'For 9+ readers, this gripping, thoughtful update to the Blytonesque "secret society" genre engages squarely with racism and social injustice.' Guardian

'Brilliant; a joy to the very end' Katherine Rundell



Josephine Williams is definitely a leader - and her teachers know it! What other eleven-year-old is desperate for MORE schoolwork?

Looking for more challenging tasks, Josie enlists her friends Wesley and Margot into her very own Scout troop, the Copseys, named after the street they all live on. Together they start their quest for their camping badge by sleeping out near to the abandoned factory behind their houses.

But that night they stumble across something strange. Someone seems to be living in the derelict building! The Copseys have to solve the mystery... and perhaps earn their bravery and activism badges along the way...


Perfect for readers who love Robin Stevens and Katherine Woodfine, and full of fast-paced adventure, brilliant characters and snappy dialogue with themes of real-life activism and how to help others.


'I love it!' Elle McNicoll


'An intriguing mystery adventure . . . bold and brilliant' Sophie Anderson

'A joy to read.' Alex Wheatle

'A funny, warm and thought-provoking celebration of community of all kinds' Anna James

The Good Turn Reviews | Toppsta

9780241523599

Share on

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Quotes

  • 'I love it!' Elle McNicoll
  • An intriguing mystery adventure . . . bold and brilliant' Sophie Anderson
Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 8 9 10 11 12 13

About Sharna Jackson

Sharna Jackson is a curator, writer and project director and is a member of BAFTA's Children's and Learning and New Talent committees and the Children's Media Conference advisory board.

More about Sharna Jackson

Ratings

  • (17 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)