Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Secret of Nightingale Wood

by

The Secret of Nightingale Wood Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

The critically-acclaimed first novel from historical
fiction star Lucy Strange - a perfect gift for readers aged 9 and
up.
CHOSEN AS ONE OF AMAZON.COM'S BEST MIDDLE-GRADE BOOKS
OF 2017
CHOSEN IN THE TELEGRAPH'S TOP 10 BOOKS OF 2016
'Perfect in so many ways.' EMMA CARROLL
'Tender, funny, devastating and just about word perfect.'
NATASHA FARRANT, winner of the Costa Book Award
'Outstanding' THE BOOKSELLER
1919. Mama is ill. Father has taken a job abroad. Nanny Jane is
too busy to pay any attention to Henrietta and the things she sees
- or thinks she sees - in the shadows of their new
home, Hope House.
All alone, with only stories for company, Henry discovers that
Hope House is full of strange secrets: a forgotten attic, ghostly
figures, mysterious firelight that flickers in the trees beyond
the garden.
One night she ventures into the darkness of Nightingale Wood.
What she finds there will change her whole world ...

A beautifully told debut with a classic feel, incorporating
themes of family, loss and childhood loneliness.
Ideal for fans of Emma Carroll and Hilary McKay.
A perfect gift for readers aged 9 and up.

The Secret of Nightingale Wood Reviews | Toppsta

9781910655030

Share on

Featured Book
Monster Christmas
Monster Christmas

BOOK OF THE MONTH: We love this Christmassy picture book with rhyming text, gorgeous images and an important message about the importance of kindness.

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 10 11
Featured Book
Monster Christmas
Monster Christmas

BOOK OF THE MONTH: We love this Christmassy picture book with rhyming text, gorgeous images and an important message about the importance of kindness.

View book
Featured Books

Ratings

  • (4 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)