Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

A Girl Called Joy: Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week

by

A Girl Called Joy: Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

'A delight for its warmth and humour, but principally because the writing is alive and stunning.' The Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week.

For readers aged 9+ comes a sparkling new series about family, friends and finding the joy in life! From award-winning author Jenny Valentine, this is the perfect series for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson!


Meet ten-year-old Joy Applebloom , a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds.

After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia - back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality .

Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back, and realizes that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along . . .

Includes beautiful illustrations from Claire Lefevre

A Girl Called Joy: Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week Reviews | Toppsta

9781471196492

Share on

Featured Book
Neon's Secret Universe
Neon's Secret Universe

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Get ready to discover the real story behind unicorns in this funny, magical, new series for ages 7+ from bestselling author Sibéal Pounder.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Series

This is Book 1 in the A Girl Called Joy Series. See all A Girl Called Joy books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

       
Age 6 8 10
Featured Book
Neon's Secret Universe
Neon's Secret Universe

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Get ready to discover the real story behind unicorns in this funny, magical, new series for ages 7+ from bestselling author Sibéal Pounder.

View book
Featured Books

About Jenny Valentine

Jenny Valentine moved house every two years when she was growing up. She has just moved house again, probably not for the last time. She worked in a wholefood shop in Primrose Hill for fifteen years where she met many extraordinary people and sold more organic loaves than there are words in her first novel. She has also worked as a teaching assistant an

More about Jenny Valentine

OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (9 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)