Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

A Girl Called Joy: Bring a little JOY into your life!

by

A Girl Called Joy: Bring a little JOY into your life! Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

For readers aged 9+ comes a sparkling new series about family, friends and finding the joy in life! From the mind of award-winning author Jenny Valentine, this is the perfect series for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson!

Meet ten-year-old Joy Applebloom , a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds.

After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia - back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality .

Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back, and realizes that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along . . .

A Girl Called Joy: Bring a little JOY into your life! Reviews | Toppsta

9781471196492

Share on

Featured Book
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Maz Evans is BACK with a laugh-out-loud tale about a girl with BIG feelings. Recommended for ages 7+ with gorgeous illustrations throughout by Chris Jevons.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 8 10
Featured Book
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Maz Evans is BACK with a laugh-out-loud tale about a girl with BIG feelings. Recommended for ages 7+ with gorgeous illustrations throughout by Chris Jevons.

View book
Featured Books

About Jenny Valentine

Jenny Valentine moved house every two years when she was growing up. She has just moved house again, probably not for the last time. She worked in a wholefood shop in Primrose Hill for fifteen years where she met many extraordinary people and sold more organic loaves than there are words in her first novel. She has also worked as a teaching assistant an

More about Jenny Valentine

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)