Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

How I Saved the World in a Week

by

How I Saved the World in a Week Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

A brilliantly imagined new 8+ adventure about resilience, family and hope. From the bestselling and Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author of BOY IN THE TOWER. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Lisa Thompson and Onjali Rauf.

Rule number one: Always be prepared . . .

Billy's mum isn't like other mums. All she wants is to teach him the Rules of Survival - how to make fire, build shelter and find food . She likes to test Billy on the rules until one day she goes too far, and Billy is sent to live with a dad he barely knows.

Then the world changes forever as people begin to be infected with a mysterious virus that turns their skin grey. As chaos breaks out, Billy has to flee the city. Suddenly he realises that this is what his mum was preparing him for - not just to save his family, but to save the whole world.

Praise for How I Saved the World in a Week :
'A fabulous page-turner' - Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song
'A compelling and timely survivalist journey' - Sita Brahmachari, author of Where the River Runs Gold
'A brave and powerful story' - Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha & the Spirit Bird

Praise for Boy in the Tower :
'An unusual and very impressive debut' - Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

How I Saved the World in a Week Reviews | Toppsta

9781471193545

Share on

Featured Book
Something I Said
Something I Said

BOOK OF THE MONTH - From comedian, actor, rapper and screenwriter Ben Bailey Smith comes the biggest middle grade debut of the year – a blazingly funny, big-hearted story about family, friendship and how far one boy will go to get a laugh.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Family & home stories

See More General fiction

See More Adventure stories

See More Thrillers

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Something I Said
Something I Said

BOOK OF THE MONTH - From comedian, actor, rapper and screenwriter Ben Bailey Smith comes the biggest middle grade debut of the year – a blazingly funny, big-hearted story about family, friendship and how far one boy will go to get a laugh.

View book
Featured Books

About Polly Ho-Yen

Polly used to be a primary school teacher in London and while she was teaching there she used to get up very early in the morning to write stories. The first of those stories is now a book called Boy in the Tower.
She's still writing stories and though she doesn't teach now, she still visit schools ... only now they're all over the country.
She lives in Bri

More about Polly Ho-Yen

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)