Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Secret Suffragette

by

Secret Suffragette Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 10
10 Reviews
Write a Review

Daisy's hero is Florence Nightingale, and she hopes to one day become a nurse just like her. But as a girl growing up in the East End of London in 1912, it seems like all her future holds is dropping out of school to work a tough job in a factory for very little money.
Then Daisy meets the suffragettes, who are fighting for the rights of women and the poor. They show her that she might be able to achieve her dreams after all. But being a suffragette is dangerous, and Daisy must risk getting in trouble with her dad, neighbours and even the police if she wants to do her bit.

Perfect for fans of Opal Plumstead and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Secret Suffragette Reviews | Toppsta

9781783448333

Share on

Featured Book
Bone Music
Bone Music

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The new stand-alone novel from David Almond - Bone Music is a timely masterpiece that explores the connections between the past and the present, between civilisation and wilderness. For ages 12+

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 0 4 7 9 10 11
Featured Book
Bone Music
Bone Music

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The new stand-alone novel from David Almond - Bone Music is a timely masterpiece that explores the connections between the past and the present, between civilisation and wilderness. For ages 12+

View book
Featured Books

About Barbara Mitchelhill

Barbara Mitchelhill was born in Rochdale and trained as a teacher. While she was teaching, she began writing for BBC children's TV and went on to write for educational publishers, before writing novels for children. She makes school visits all over the country, and enjoys appearing at literary festivals and talking to teachers and librarians, some as far awa

More about Barbara Mitchelhill

Ratings

  • (8 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)