Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Roll with It

by

Roll with It Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 3 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

"A big-hearted story that's as sweet as it is awesome." -R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder
"An honest, emotionally rich take on disability, family, and growing up." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind , this big-hearted middle grade debut tells the story of an irrepressible girl with cerebral palsy whose life takes an unexpected turn when she moves to a new town.

Ellie's a girl who tells it like it is. That surprises some people, who see a kid in a wheelchair and think she's going to be all sunshine and cuddles. The thing is, Ellie has big dreams: She might be eating Stouffer's for dinner, but one day she's going to be a professional baker. If she's not writing fan letters to her favorite celebrity chefs, she's practicing recipes on her well-meaning, if overworked, mother.

But when Ellie and her mom move so they can help take care of her ailing grandpa, Ellie has to start all over again in a new town at a new school. Except she's not just the new kid-she's the new kid in the wheelchair who lives in the trailer park on the wrong side of town. It all feels like one challenge too many, until Ellie starts to make her first-ever friends. Now she just has to convince her mom that this town might just be the best thing that ever happened to them!

Roll with It Reviews | Toppsta

9781534442566

Share on

Featured Book
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Tyrannosaurus Rex

BOOK OF THE MONTH - TV Scientist Ben Garrod presents this infamous dinosaur as you've never seen it before. A brilliant reference title with full colour illustrations for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 10
Featured Book
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Tyrannosaurus Rex

BOOK OF THE MONTH - TV Scientist Ben Garrod presents this infamous dinosaur as you've never seen it before. A brilliant reference title with full colour illustrations for ages 9+

View book
Featured Books

Books by this author

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)