Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Lost Words

by
,

The Lost Words Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 13
13 Reviews
Write a Review

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE BEAUTIFUL BOOK AWARD
BRITISH BOOK AWARDS CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018

The book that has taken root in schools across Britain, inspired creative thinkers, young and old, and restored the vanishing poetry of nature.


All over the country, there are words disappearing from children's lives. These are the words of the natural world; Dandelion, Otter, Bramble and Acorn, all gone. A wild landscape of imagination and play is rapidly fading from our children's minds.

The Lost Words stands against the disappearance of wild childhood. It is a joyful celebration - in art and word - of nearby nature and its wonders. With acrostic spell-poems by award-winning writer Robert Macfarlane and illustrations by Jackie Morris , this enchanting book evokes the irreplaceable magic of language and nature for all ages.

*** Discover The Lost Spells, the magical new book from the creators of a literary phenomenon . Available to pre-order now. ***

Praise for The Lost Words :

'The most beautiful and thought-provoking book I've read this year' Frank Cottrell-Boyce, Observer

'Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris have made a thing of astonishing beauty' Alex Preston, Observer

'My top book of the year' Susan Hill, Spectator

'Gorgeous to look at and to read. Give it to a child to bring back the magic of language - and its scope' Jeanette Winterson, Guardian

The Lost Words Reviews | Toppsta

9780241253588

Share on

Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Picture books

See More Poetry

See More Wildlife

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 1 4 7 9 10 11
Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

About Jackie Morris

Jackie Morris is an author and illustrator, photographer and painter. She lives in a small house beside the sea in Wales. Her many books include Tell me a Dragon, The Snow Leopard, The Seal Children and How the Whale Became, written by Ted Hughes. She has a lively presence on social media and progress of her work can be followed on her blog: www.jackiemorris

More about Jackie Morris

About Robert Macfarlane

Robert Macfarlane (Author)
Robert Macfarlane is the author of Mountains of the Mind, The Wild Places, The Old Ways, Landmarks, and The Lost Words , co-created with Jackie Morris . Mountains of the Mind won the Guardian First Book Award and the Somerset Maugham Award and

More about Robert Macfarlane

Ratings

  • (10 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)