Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief

by

Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 3
3 Reviews
Write a Review

`The perfect mix of funny, foul and fearful' Metro

`Brilliantly imagined . . . laugh-out-loud funny' Sunday Express


The third book in the bestselling, gorgeously gothic and wickedly funny Amelia Fang series - perfect for readers of 7+


Meet Amelia Fang! Everyone's favourite little vampire.


Amelia and her friends are taking part in a competition to visit Pumpkin Paradise Park - the most bloodcurdingly brilliant theme park ever! All they have to do is sell as many cookies as possible.

But the creatures of Nocturnia have begun to act very strangely . . . No one can seem to remember anything - including their own names or even Amelia's big birthnight party!

Where have everyone's memories gone? And how can Amelia save them when they have all forgotten who she is?


Also available in the Amelia Fang series:


Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball
Amelia Fang and the Unicorn Lords
Amelia Fang and the Half-Term Holiday

Amelia Fang is perfect for fans of Witch Wars, The Worst Witch and Isadora Moon

When she's not trying to take over the world or fighting sock-stealing monsters, Laura Ellen Anderson is a professional children's book author & illustrator, with an increasing addiction to coffee. She spends every waking hour creating and drawing, and would quite like to live on the moon when humans finally make it possible. Laura is the creator of EVIL EMPEROR PENGUIN and illustrator of WITCH WARS, as well as many other children's books. The bestselling AMELIA FANG is her first series as author-illustrator.

Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief Reviews | Toppsta

9781405287074

Share on

Series

This is Book 3 in the The Amelia Fang Series Series. See all The Amelia Fang Series books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

25th October '18
G read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief 9781405287074
5 stars
I really enjoyed Amelia Fang’s third adventure...I love Laura Ellen Anderson’s writing and illustrations...they are such fun!

This is a funny adventure, featuring illustrations on every page.  Amelia Fang, a vampire girl with a lot of friends, lives in the Kingdom of the Dark with her mum and dad...her best friends are Florence the Yeti and Grimaldi, Tangine and Squashy.

After the last adventure (the Unicorn Lords) Amelia had made the two kingdoms ( light and dark ) like each other and now the Light students are joining the Dark students. There are new lessons such as Glitterology and cooking. Mr Sublime is also holding a competition where the students will bake cookies to win a trip to Pumpkin Paradise.
Aswell as a bake off, it is Amelia’s big birthnight party at the pumpkin patch...if anyone can remember of course!?  Everyone is losing their memory, but how, why?
Can Amelia save the day before she is forgotten like a burnt cake in an oven?

This book made me laugh especially Florence, as she is so funny. If you are seven plus this a must read for you (If you are older like me, it’s a fab, fun ‘reading for pleasure’ read).
13th November '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief 9781405287074
4 stars
Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief is the third disgustingly fun installment to this fab-foul-lous series. The setting this time returns to Nocturnia but things are a little different. The events of the previous novel mean that the folks of Nocturnia no longer fear the Creatures of the Light. Fairy exchange students are now welcome in their classes and some of their school lessons include things like Glitterology and Angel Kitten Singing. While the story is still delightfully gross in many ways (as wonderfully brought to life by Anderson's witty and charming illustrations), it mixes wonderfully with the sugary cuteness of the previous story.
In terms of plot I did think (just like a number of reviews I’ve read about this book) that this book is quite weak compared to its predecessors. The plot just isn't quite as awe-inspiring as the previous books and is a little slow to get going. However, it is still a fun read and does do a great job of showing that, even though people can argue and fall out, they still can remain friends.
The story is also still completely age-appropriate for young readers. It’s light, fun and easy to follow, packed with delightul humour and illustrations. The plot forms a simple mystery, as Amelia and Tangine race to find out why everyone except for them seem to be losing their memories. Although there are a couple of sad moments, there is certainly nothing that would stop a young reader from thoroughly enjoying this tale.
While the book does offer some character development for Amelia and Tangine, the other protagonists don't really feature much this time round. As in the second Amelia Fang book (Amelia Fang and the Unicorn Lords) where Florence and Grimaldi had a meatier role to play with plenty to do, in this third book unfortunately they don't really feature as much as they are amongst the first to loose their memories.
Previous characters such as Adonis and the Angel Kitten do get a brief cameo at the end of this book but are not mentioned throughout the rest of the story.
The Amelia Fang series is an altogether remarkable read and I would certainly recommend kids to read this highly imaginative series. But out of all three books I find this third installment a touch underwhelming. The front cover with the green foiled edges and the many illustrations are absolutely divine and support the story well. A quality 4⭐️ read. 
Show More (0)

About Laura Ellen Anderson

Laura Ellen Anderson Biography
Laura Ellen Anderson is a British author and illustrator who has just published the second book in her new series, Amelia Fang, who she describes as a modern day Wednesday Adams from the Adams Family. Laura has illustrated many children's books in...

More about Laura Ellen Anderson

Ratings

    10 stars
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)