Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

by
,

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 13
13 Reviews
Write a Review

The most spellbinding new children's fantasy series of 2019, with beautiful black-and-white inside illustrations by Sarah Warburton. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor .

Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things - like keys, or socks, or wooden teeth. Useful, but not exactly exciting . . .
Then the most powerful witch in the world of Starfell turns up at Willow's door and asks for her help. A whole day - last Tuesday to be precise - has gone missing. Completely. And, without it, the whole universe could unravel.
Now Willow holds the fate of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . Can she save the day - by finding the lost one?

Step into Starfell, a world crackling with warmth, wit and magic, perfect for readers aged 8-12.

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day Reviews | Toppsta

9780008308407

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

Series

This is Book 3 in the Starfell Series. See all Starfell books here.

First Line

"Most people think being born with a magical power would be a bit of a dream come true. But that's only because they assume that they'd get exciting powers, like the ability to fly, become invisible or turn an annoying relative into a pig."

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

3rd May '19
I read it myself (an adult)
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308407
5 stars
A stunningly spellbinding tale of magic, adventure and friendship with a remarkable heroine at its heart (not to mention the witches and wizards, trolls and the dragons!) But weaved between the magic is a beautifully raw story about finding love and acceptance in yourself and the magic and strength that comes with it.

Dominique Valente has skillfully created a enchanting new world crackling with warmth and wit, and with it a wonderfully quirky cast of characters who had me in stitches one minute and tears the next!

Accompanied with beautiful black-and-white illustrations by the extremely talented Sarah Warburton this accessible adventure with short chapters and a fast-paced narration is perfect for 8+ readers.

A dazzling debut, I cannot wait to join Willow on her next magical adventure! 

Perfect for fans of Nevermoor!
12th February '19
I read it myself aged 11 aged 11
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308407
4 stars
 This book is truly about believing in yourself. In the magical land of Starfell, Willow Moss is feeling miserable. She isn’t allowed to go with her mother and her sisters has to instead stay at home with her grandma. But that all changes when the greatest which in all of  willow Moss is feeling miserable. She isn’t allowed to go with her mother and her sisters has to instead stay at home with her grandma. But that all changes when the greatest which in all of Starfell comes knocking at her door, to ask for a huge favour.

As Willow moss goes on her journey, She makes loads of new friends and Lance a great many important life lessons. Her courage and determination help her through the adventure in which her life has been stirred into. Her courage and determination help her through the adventure in which her life has been stirred into. 

I would definitely recommend this book, as it is funny, interesting and a great read. 
27th February '19
maddieRH read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day 9780008308407
3 stars
It has taken a little while to write this review as Maddison struggled a bit with this book.  She found it very fast paced with the introduction of many characters in the first few pages of the book which caused her some confusion trying to remember them all. She persevered with it though and she did enjoy the story, once she had got used to the many characters.  She especially liked Willow, who she felt a little sorry for!  The vocabulary is exactly right for the age group this book is aimed at and despite it being a Magical book, it definitely isn't a girly book so would appeal to a wide range of readers. Maddison gave this book 3 stars and she said she would be interested to read some other books in the series to compare them. 
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Dominique Valente

Born in South Africa, Dominique Valente now lives in the Sussex countryside with her husband and their English Bulldog, Fudge. She writes bestselling women's fiction under her pseudonym, Lily Graham, and is a former journalist for publications like Business Day and Woman & Home.

...

More about Dominique Valente

About Sarah Warburton

Sarah has many books, working for a large variety of publishers. With author Hiawyn Oram, she created the Orchard Books' character of Rumblewick - the witch's familiar - employed by a very unwilling witch. Both in picture book and fiction this character has sold worldwide and is...

More about Sarah Warburton

Ratings

    9 stars
  • (10 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)