Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark

by
,

The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 27
27 Reviews
Write a Review

A heart-warming classic full of animal antics by Jill Tomlinson.
Plop, the Baby Barn Owl, is like every Barn Owl there ever was, except for one thing - he is afraid of the dark. "Dark is nasty" he says and so he won't go hunting with his parents. Mrs Barn Owl sends him down from his nest-hole to ask about the dark and he meets a little boy waiting for the fireworks to begin, an old lady, a scout out camping, a girl who tells him about Father Christmas, a man with a telescope and a black cat who takes him exploring. He realizes that through these encounters that dark is super after all.
Filled with gentle humour and comfort, Jill Tomlinson's animal stories have been enjoyed by children who want to snuggle down with a good read for decades. This edition of The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark is beautifully illustrated by Paul Howard.

The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark Reviews | Toppsta

9781405271974

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Animal stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 2 3 4 6 7 8
Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About Jill Tomlinson

Jill Tomlinson never intended to be a writer. She trained as an opera singer, and then decided to have a family whilst her voice matured. But illness intervened, and she had to find another outlet for her energies. She started on a journalism course, and by the third lesson decided she wanted to write for children. So she did! Jill Tomlinson's animal stor

More about Jill Tomlinson

About Paul Howard

Paul Howard studied a Graphic Design course that specialised in illustration, and worked at the Natural History Museum before becoming a full-time illustrator. Amongst other books, he illustrated the enormously popular The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark and wrote and illustrated Bugville (both published by Egmont). This is Paul's second book for Bloomsbury,

More about Paul Howard

Ratings

  • (21 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)