Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back

by

Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

Captain Underpants meets Star Wars in this hilariously funny series.

Cosmoe, Princess Dagger, Humphree and the gang are back for another wild space adventure. Humphree's all jazzed up at the chance to sell Galactic Hot Dogs at Crostini's Cosmic Carnival and Wonder Circus train. Cosmoe's not entirely convinced, but once his skills as a monster tamer are unveiled, the deal is done and the neon wiener officially joins the train.

Only things aren't quite what they seem at this circus, and pretty soon Cosmoe realizes he and his buddies are in more danger than ever. To get to the bottom of it all, they have to travel somewhere pretty familiar, giving readers a glimpse at last into Cosmoe's past and how he ended up aboard the Wiener in the first place.

"Mind-blowing action and big-time fun!" Jeff Kinney, author of The Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back Reviews | Toppsta

9781471123146

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Good Thieves
The Good Thieves

Bestselling and award-winning author, Katherine Rundell, returns with a brilliant new story packed with adventure and excitement, recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight
Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight

Perfect for readers of 7+, Cinders & Sparks is a fresh, funny and fabulous take on Cinderella, for everyone who loved Frozen and Shrek.

View book

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

3rd July '16
Actionbro9 read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
I liked this book because it was full of action and was a science fiction story that kept my interest. It was a bit boring to begin with but got better. I also read the first one which was very good so I would recommend this book. Children who like space themed books would like this book as well as those who like to read comics as there is a lot of this type of writing in the book.
My sister also read it and she thought it was cool
2nd August '16
TommyZoom42 read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
Really enjoyed this wacky book. Great illustrations and a perfect holiday read.
4th August '16
BlastyMK read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
A really good story I loved all the characters and aliens and I loved that they sold hotdogs and that there was a circus in it.              
24th May '16
finlay06 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
Don't worry, you don't HAVE to like eating hot dogs to like this book!  It's set in space and has an evil queen in it and literally thousands of monsters!  Cosmoe is the main character.  He has a blob on his hand called Goober.  Goober really helps him fight evil.  This book is my kind of thing.  It's funny and talks about 'emotional butt-cheeks'.  That's just one example but there are loads more things like that in the book.  Once I started reading this book I couldn't stop.  I even read it on the bus to school.  I'm going to enjoy reading the first galactic hot dog book because I haven't read it yet.  I bet it will be awesome!  The book is also sad in some parts.  I didn't need any help reading this book.
5th July '16
CasparW read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
My favourite character in this book was Big Humphree because he was funny and a great fighter. I liked the way that this book revealed Cosmoe's past and I didn't need to have read the first book in the series to understand the story. It had a great storyline with many twists and turns along the way. It was brilliant! 
19th July '16
Arsenal2 read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
I had not read the first book in the series so I did not know what to expect but I was engrossed from the first page and could not put it down. I love anything to do with space so this was particularly appealing for me. It was an action packed story and I really liked the comic style which is a bit different from most books and I feel the illustrations helped to bring the story to life. The storyline is not straight forward and a few times I thought something was going to happen and then it turned out differently. I will definitely be reading the first book now. I certainly recommend this book.
10th July '16
Shaun read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
5 stars
I have read the first galactic hotdogs book and really liked it so I was very happy to win this book in a Toppsta giveaway, it is really fun and entertaining. There are lots of good pictures in this book which make it a bit like a comic, and it has really cool things like lots of monsters and space in it.  I really enjoyed reading it and hope that there are going to be some more adventures like this to come.
26th July '16
Harry04 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
4 stars
I enjoyed this book. At first i found it difficult to read, but liked the pictures and all the action. I would not have chose it but am so glad i won it on toppsta. Im now looking forward to reading the next galactic action in the next book.
23rd August '16
Ame read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
4 stars
A really funny book that reads like a comic,my 8 year old loved it but struggled a little bit on her own I would recommend it for 10 year olds but a good read
6th July '16
I read it to MaxS aged 9 aged 9
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
4 stars
This is a fun comic style space adventure book. It has a similar feel to 'Captain Underpants' but with better spelling! The tone is a little irritating for an adult; think surfer dude speak, but for kids it's fine. My 9 year old loves that style. The illustrations are fantastic and liven up the text. They make it much more appealing to a reluctant reader. The reading age is approximately 8 plus in my opinion. It should appeal to both boy and girl readers since there are strong central characters of both gender. It takes a little while for the story line to get going, hence the four stars but if you persist the pace really moves on. Overall a nice engaging read which is visually exciting and not too stuffy!
29th July '16
I read it to ProfessorA aged 7 aged 7
Galactic HotDogs 2: The Wiener Strikes Back 9781471123146
4 stars
Full of evil queens, aliens and monsters, this book is a sure-fire hit with science fiction fans (and don't worry, you don't have to like hotdogs to enjoy it!)  Packed full of comic book style double-spreads, the next instalment of Cosmoe and the gang is a must-have for fans of Captain Underpants and Star Wars.  Action and adventure are guaranteed!
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages The Good Thieves
The Good Thieves

Bestselling and award-winning author, Katherine Rundell, returns with a brilliant new story packed with adventure and excitement, recommended for ages 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight
Cinders and Sparks: Magic at Midnight

Perfect for readers of 7+, Cinders & Sparks is a fresh, funny and fabulous take on Cinderella, for everyone who loved Frozen and Shrek.

View book

About Max Brallier

Max Brallier is the author of more than twenty books and games. He writes children's books and adult books. He's also a humor writer, having published The All-Star Bathroom Sampler, Toilet Trivia, Reasons to Drink, and Reasons to Smoke....

More about Max Brallier

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (4 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)