Children's Book Award 2018

26th February 2018

Test

The Children's Book Award (run by the Federation of Children's Book Groups) is the only national award voted for solely by children. Today (26th February 2018), after counting the 93,000 votes we can announce the exciting Top Ten shortlist!

ANY child in the UK can vote for their favourite in the Top Ten. All they need to do is read the books, decide the order from 1 to 4 in the Younger Children’s Category and 1 to 3 in the Younger and Older Readers Categories and vote through their children’s book group or online.

top 10 shortlist for 2018

Books for Younger children

Book pages Placeholder Book

I Dare You

Two bored gorillas decide to play a game of dares. Eating dares. Who will end up the big-bellied winner, and who the sore-bellied loser? This dry, funny picture book debut is pitch perfect for children who love outsmarting their friends. The Toppsta reviewers have loved this one, check out their reviews here and watch out for more info on this book too!

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Secret of Black Rock

Erin loves to lie on the jetty, looking for the weirdest fish in the seathe weirder, the better! And she knows the best ones must be further out, where her mum won't let her go ...Out there in the deepest sea lies the Black Rock: a huge, dark and spiky mass that is said to destroy any boats that come near it! Can Erin uncover the truth behind this mysterious legend? Joe Todd-Stanton s first picture book, Arthur and the Golden Rope, was published by Flying Eye Books in 2016. "

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Edgar and the Sausage Inspector

Edgar and Edith are hungry, and it's up to Edgar to bring home something tasty. But just when Edgar finds some delicious sausages, they are taken by The Inspector, a very important-looking rat with a big hat. Poor Edgar and Edith are left with nothing but dry crackers and pickles for dinner. That is, until one day, when The Inspector is all fattened up, and Edgar does some inspecting of his own..."A hilarious tale of confidence, tricks and comeuppance, with deviously delectable pictures" - The Metro

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Mrs Mole, I'm Home!

Root for Morris the spectacle-wearing mole to find his way home in this laugh-out-loud story from Jarvis, the creator of Alan's Big, Scary Teeth. From Jarvis, the creator of Alan's Big, Scary Teeth, comes another truly unmissable, hilarious adventure about a daddy mole who has mislaid his spectacles. With perfect comic timing and a whole lot of heart, Jarvis will have all readers rooting for Morris to find his family, and rejoicing in the idea that - glasses or no glasses - you can always make your way back to home sweet home.

View Book

books for younger readers

Book pages Placeholder Book

Goldfish Boy

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely - and hope when all you feel is fear. Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant
cast of supporting characters. Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Explorer

From his seat in the tiny aeroplane, Fred watches as the mysteries of the Amazon jungle pass by below him. He has always dreamed of becoming an explorer, of making history and of reading his name amongst the lists of great discoveries. If only he could land and look about him.

As the plane crashes into the canopy, Fred is suddenly left without a choice. He and the three other children may be alive, but the jungle is a vast, untamed place. With no hope of rescue, the chance of getting home feels impossibly small. Except, it seems, someone has been there before them ...

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Island at the End of Everything

Amihan lives on Culion Island, where some of the inhabitants - including her mother - have leprosy. Ami loves her home - with its blue seas and lush forests, Culion is all she has ever known. But the arrival of malicious government official Mr Zamora changes her world forever: islanders untouched by sickness are forced to leave. Banished across the sea, she's desperate to return, and finds a strange and fragile hope in a colony of butterflies. Can they lead her home before it's too late?

View Book

books for older readers

Book pages Placeholder Book

INK

Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora's father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all.

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

I Have No Secrets

Jemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can't tell anyone.

Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change... A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. 

View Book
Book pages Placeholder Book

Optimists Die First

Ever since tragedy struck her family, Petula has learned to see danger everywhere - whether it's crossing the road or eating a poached egg. Petula's determined not to let her guard down, even if this means allowing herself to be ruled by anxiety and grief, and losing her best friend.
Then Jacob walks into her therapy group. Strikingly tall and confident, he's survived a different kind of disaster and still come out smiling. At first Petula is repelled by his optimism, yet even she can't deny their chemistry together.
But optimism is blind - and so is love. What will happen if Petula gives in to both?

View Book

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email