Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best New Children's Books August 2018

31st July 2018

Test

Oooh we've got some corkers for you this month! We are so lucky here at Toppsta towers to be sent books by authors, illustrators and publishers. We see literally (ha!) hundreds of books each month and take great pleasure in picking our favourites to share with you, the Toppsta community. 

All of these brilliant books are available to win and review. Just sign up here https://toppsta.com/auth/regis... and enter each giveaway.


Book pages Placeholder Book

The 104-Storey Treehouse

The 104-Storey Treehouse is the eighth book of Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton's wacky treehouse adventures, where the laugh-out-loud story is told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations.

If you haven't yet discovered the Treehouse Storey series you're in for a treat. It's a brilliantly funny, quirky series with tons of illustrations and my nine year old son is absolutely ADDICTED to it. If you like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, you'll love this series too. 

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Boy Underwater

Boy Underwater is one of those books which stays with you for a while. A poignant tale of a 9 year old who unravels the tale of why his Mum never taught him to swim and why he's never met his Dad. A heart-breaking, heart-warming novel - this book will probably make you cry, and will definitely make you laugh.

Cymbeline Igloo (yes, really!) has NEVER been swimming. Not ever. Not once.

But how hard can it be? He's Googled front crawl and he's found his dad's old pair of trunks. He's totally ready. What he's not ready for is the accident at the pool - or how it leads his mum to a sudden breakdown. Now, with the help of friends old and new, Cymbeline must solve the mystery of why his mum never took him near water - and it will turn his whole life upside down...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

AWOL 1 Agent Without Licence

AWOL: Agent without licence is by the brilliant Andrew Lane (Young Sherlock Books) and is perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Cherub.  It's a brilliantly written, fast-paced spy action thriller. All credibly delivered from somebody who knows all about counter-intelligence...

Kieron and his friend Sam are shocked to see a man kidnapped in a Newcastle shopping centre right in front of their eyes. The boys quickly realise that the kidnapped man left something behind in the scuffle - an earpiece and glasses. Kieron puts them on and realises he can see not what is front of him, but a busy, tourist city, somewhere very hot - in Mumbai. Before Kieron and Sam know it, they are part of a mission to stop a weapon of mass destruction from falling into the wrong hands...

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Sweep

And then we have Sweep, a blustery picture book (perfect for this change in weather!) about dealing with feelings (in particular a very BAD mood). For anyone who has felt swept away by big emotions, this lovely picture book shows that these feelings can, and will pass. 

An uplifting picture book about confronting big emotions from the author of The Night Box, stunningly illustrated by Julia Sarda.

Ed's bad mood begins as something really small, hardly a thing at all.
But before long it grows, gathers pace, and spreads through the whole town.
Can Ed sweep his troubles away?

A wonderful bedtime story for children aged 3 years and up, perfect for helping children learn to recognise and deal with big emotions.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email