Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Best Books About Bees for Kids

8th June 2020

beehive with bees

You’ve probably heard that bees and other pollinators are really important creatures, but do you know why? Did you know that, because bees pollinate so much of our food, you have a bee to thank for one in every three bites of food you eat. Honeybees perform about 80% of all pollination. (Source Greenpeace)

Sadly, the number of bees are falling – in fact some studies suggest that a third of all bees have disappeared in the last 10 years and quarter of the species of bees in Europe are at risk of extinction (Source: Greenpeace)

There are many reasons for this, but some of the key ones are Climate change, the loss of the bees’ natural habitat as areas of natural wildlife are turned into housing estates or shopping centres, and hedges and verges of wildflowers are cut back, and the use of pesticides. (Source: The Soil Association)

But there are plenty of things you can do to help the bees and other pollinators such as moths and butterflies. There are some lovely flowers and plants you can grow in your garden, or plant-pots or even in your local parks – maybe ask whoever cuts the dandelions and daisies to leave them a bit longer! There are all sorts of interesting projects you can do at home such as building a bee-hotel or a small drinking pond for the bees – the Wildlife Trust websites have lots of nice ideas

If you want to find out more about bees, we’ve put together a selection of books (including picture books and honey bee books) that might be of interest… and for starters here are some ‘fun facts’ about bees to impress your friends and family:

Did you know

1.  A hive of bees in the height of summer can contain up to 80,000 bees

2.  All the worker bees are female

3.  Only female bees can sting

4.  The queen bee is the mother of all the bees in the hive and lays up to 2000 eggs per day in the summer

5.  The drones’ (male bees’) only purpose in life is to impregnant a queen bee. Once done, his genitals explode and he dies!

Toppsta
2020-06-18
Best Books About Bees for Kids
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Bee Book

Discover more about our fuzzy little insect friends with award-winning author and illustrator Charlotte Milner.

The perfect introduction to bee conservation for little ones. Learn all about the beautiful world of bees and their adventure from flower to flower. You'll find out just how much they matter, why they are declining, and what we can do to help in this adorable kids' book.

Bees are brilliant at building, super social creatures and along with other insects, are responsible for a third of every mouthful of food you eat! Children will be fascinated by the beautiful pictures and learn plenty of buzz-worthy fun facts in every chapter, covering types of bees, beehives, beekeeping, how they pollinate plants and make honey.

What do they do all day? Why are bees important? Find out why they need our help and what you can do.

Bees are responsible for so much more than making honey. This book is an essential tool in encouraging the protection of our precious buzzing friends for generations to come.

Learn all about these valuable creatures:
- What happens in the hive
- What pollination is
- Who the queen is
- How honeybees talk to each other
- How we can help them and much, much more!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bee & Me

The beautiful Bee and Me picture book by Alison Jay is now available in paperback! A bee flies in the window and a little girl is frightened. She traps the bee and then wonders what to do. This beautiful wordless picture book traces the growing friendship between girl and bee and introduces small children to the ecology of the natural world. Highlighting the plight of the disappearing bumble bee, it shows how some simple actions can help restore beauty and balance in our environment.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Why Do We Need Bees?

Why do we need bees? How do they make honey? And who's who in a beehive? Children can find the answers to these questions and many more in this informative lift-the-flap book. With colourful illustrations, simple text and chunky flaps to lift, young children can discover lots of amazing facts about bees and why they need our help.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Honeybee

Buzz from flower to flower with a sweet honeybee in this timely, clever, and breathtakingly gorgeous picture book from critically acclaimed author Kirsten Hall and award-winning illustrator Isabelle Arsenault.

Bzzz...

What's that?
Do you hear it?
You're near it.
It's closer,
it's coming,
it's buzzing,
it's humming...

A BEE!

With zooming, vibrant verse by Kirsten Hall and buzzy, beautiful illustrations by Isabelle Arsenault, this celebration of the critically important honeybee is a honey-sweet treasure of a picture book.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bee: Nature's tiny miracle

A tale of wonder is about to unfold...
Find out where Bee's miraculous journey through woods and meadows will end in this delightful peek-through picture book. The story is magically brought to life by Britta Teckentrup's beautiful illustrations.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Explore My World: Honey Bees

In this charming picture book, curious little kids will learn all about the bustling world of honeybees and the important role they play in our delicate ecosystem.

These engaging Explore My World picture books on subjects kids care about combine simple stories with unforgettable photography. They invite little kids to take their first big steps toward understanding the world around them and are just the thing for parents and kids to curl up with and read aloud.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Amazing Bees: Buzzing with Bee Facts!

Read about the busy, buzzy life of bees with DK Reader Amazing Bees. Discover what makes bees so special and why they are very important. Find out how we can help them, too.

DK's innovative range of graded readers combines a highly visual approach with non-fiction narratives that children will want to read. DK Reader Amazing Bees is a level 2 reader, offering narratives for children beginning to read fluently with support. Images complement the text, providing visual clues to build vocabulary and confidence.

There's a DK Reader for every child!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

National Geographic Kids Readers: Buzz, Bee!

Bzzz! Learn all about honey bees in the next pre-reader from National Geographic Kids!

Through text features such as a vocabulary tree and a wrap-up activity, kids will be introduced to new words and concepts - helping them expand their understanding of the world.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Book of Bees!

How do bees communicate? What does a beekeeper do? Did you know that Napoleon loved bees[unk] Who survived being stung by 2,443 bees? This book answers all these questions and many more, tracking the history of bees from the time of the dinosaurs to their current plight.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

How to Bee

Set in a future Australia in a time when there are no bees and children are employed to scramble through the fruit trees with feather wands, much like the pear farmers of Hanyuan in China are forced to do today. Peony wants to be a bee, a hand pollinator: she's light, she's fast, and even though she's a year too young, she's going to be the best bee the farm has ever seen...except when you're only 9, it's hard to get everyone around you to go along with your plan. A beautiful and fierce novel for middle grade readers, 'How to Bee' explores an all-too-possible dystopian social landscape with an intensely compelling and original voice.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Bee Alert

When Ben goes to stay with his grandpa in the country for the summer, he’s hoping that somewhere, somehow, there’ll be a mystery to solve. Stumbling on a case of alarming disappearances, he comes to realize that solving this case may prove more dangerous than anything he could ever have imagined. Will he survive the hornet’s attack? Is there anyone who’ll believe his incredible story? Can he kickstart changes that may just save the world? During a stay in France, Barbara Rustin became concerned about the dramatic bee losses there and, decided to keep bees and research the problem with a view to writing a book[b]. [/b]Bee Alert!, Barbara’s first children’s book, brings together her life work of writing, editing and activism.   - [i]The Bee Movie[/i] meets [i]Beetle Boy[/i] with engaging characters and a pacy story that skilfully conveys the horrors of current falling bee populations. - Cross-generational mix, simple plot lines and exciting visual scenes from both the six-legged and two-legged perspectives.  - Educators looking for fiction that connects to and supports science curricula will be wowed by this. - Perfect for fans of M.G. Leonard, Ross Welford and Roald Dahl - Brilliant debut author with impassioned green credentials

View Book COMPARE PRICES

This is a guest blog written by Julie Macken, Deputy Queen Bee at Neve’s Bees. Neve is Julie’s daughter who, aged 9, decided they should keep bees. They now run Neve’s Bees, a family business making a range of natural skincare (with a little help from their bees!)

If you want to know more about keeping bees, which flowers bees like, or how beeswax is made, they have a series of blogs. Here is the latest one which explores ‘Is Beeswax Vegan’ and some of the ethical arguments about beekeeping.


Toppsta
2020-06-18
Best Books About Bees for Kids

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email