Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Renee Watson

Author Links

Renee Watson

  • 5 stars across 8 books
    RENEE WATSON is the Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award-winning author of the novels Piecing Me Together, This Side of Home, What Momma Left Me, Betty Before X, co-written with Ilyasah Shabazz, and two picture books: Harlem's Little Blackbird and A Place Where Hurricanes Happen. Renee is the founder of I, Too, Arts Collective, a nonprofit committed to nurturing underrepresented voices in the creative arts. She lives in New York City.

    reneewatson.net
    @harlemportland
    5th September 2019

    Some Places More Than Others

    From New York Times bestselling and multi award-winning author Renee Watson comes a heartwarming and inspiring middle gr... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    6th April 2017

    This Side of Home

    From New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award-winning author Renee Watson comes a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    21st February 2019

    Watch Us Rise

    A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    23rd July 2020

    Ways to Make Sunshine

    Ryan Hart and her family live in Portland, Oregon, and her dad lost his job a while ago. He finally got a new one, but i... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    31st December 2018

    Betty Before X

    In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty's house doesn't quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    6th February 2020

    What Momma Left Me

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Piecing Me Together, a 2018 Newbery Honor Book and a Coretta Scott King Au... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Ways to Make Sunshine Ways to Make Sunshine

    Ways to Make Sunshine

    Paperback
    23rd July 2020

    Recent Reviews

    • Some Places More Than Others

      Some Places More Than Others

      by Suzanne

      I really liked this book. The main character - Amara learns about her family history by visiting her grandad in Harlem, New York. She's got high hopes...

    • Some Places More Than Others

      Some Places More Than Others

      by bmd83

      A beautiful heartfelt story about finding where you fit in the world. Amara lives in Oregon and is desperate to find out about her family roots in Har...