Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Marcia Williams

  • 5 stars across 51 books
    Marcia Williams is famous for her retellings of classic stories. From Shakespeare and Dickens to the Canterbury Tales and Greek Myths, her humorous comic-strip illustrations are hugely popular all over the world. She lives in London.
    5th September 2019

    Children Who Changed the World: Incredible True Stories About Children's Rights!

    Celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Rights of the Child and the amazing children who have stood up for them all ov... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    1st October 2015

    Tales from Shakespeare

    Marcia Williams retells fourteen of Shakespeare's best-loved plays in her trademark witty, accessible style. Mu... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    4th April 2019

    Cloud Boy

    The diary of an irrepressible girl learning to deal with friendship, grief and growing up, perfect for fans of Jacqu... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    6th November 2014

    Les Miserables

    A beautifully illustrated retelling of Victor Hugo's masterpiece.Marcia Williams retells one of the greatest novels of a... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    6th November 2014

    Great Expectations

    One of the world's greatest writers is introduced to a new audience through this accessible retelling with lively illust... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    5th October 2017

    A Christmas Carol

    This classic seasonal tale of self-discovery has become one of Charles Dickens's most famous and best-loved works. On ... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    2nd October 2006

    The Iliad and the Odyssey

    Thrilling comic-strip action, with monsters, mighty heroes and even mightier gods and goddesses. The Iliad ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    My Secret War Diary, by Flossie Albright

    A fascinating diary account of the Second World War, as seen through the eyes of a young girl. Flossie is just ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    7th August 2006

    Three Cheers for Inventors!

    A tribute to 101 groundbreaking discoveries from some of the world's greatest - and not so great - inventors. D... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    1st September 2010

    Sinbad the Sailor

    Share in the adventures of Sinbad in this wonderful re-telling of his travels. The stories of Sinbad the Sailor are som... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Mr William Shakespeare's Plays

      Mr William Shakespeare's Plays

      This book is the perfect introduction to Shakespeare for children. Each story is condensed to a few pages of beautifully illustrated comic strip, with...

    • Great Expectations

      Great Expectations

      by MrsP512

      We read this alongside watching the 1946 film. We had some great discussions about why certain parts of the book were left out/changed. My class loved...

    • The Iliad and the Odyssey

      The Iliad and the Odyssey

      I find reading hard but Mrs P gave me this book and it helped me to understand the story with all the pictures. S aged 9...