Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Ibi Zoboi

  • 5 stars across 9 books
Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her writing has been published in The New York Times Book Review, The Horn Book, and The Rumpus, among others. She is the author of American Street, a National Book Award finalist, and Pride. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at www.ibizoboi.net.
1st September 2020

Punching the Air

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2022 YOTO CARNEGIE MEDAL From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison refor... MorePunching the Air

(2 reviews) Review
8th January 2019

Black Enough: Stories of Being Young & Black in America

Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about w... MoreBlack Enough: Stories of Being Young & Black in America

(0 reviews) Review
23rd March 2017

American Street

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; a... MoreAmerican Street

(0 reviews) Review
5th March 2020

Pride: A Pride & Prejudice Remix

In a timely update of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi skillfully balances cult... MorePride: A Pride & Prejudice Remix

(0 reviews) Review
14th October 2021

The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book for Kids

From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Ibi Zoboi comes her debut picture book—a tour de force that uses t... MoreThe People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book for Kids

(0 reviews) Review
9th June 2022

Marvel Okoye: To The People: A Black Panther Novel

Caught between duty to her country and listening to her own heart, Okoye must find her own way and determine the type of... MoreMarvel Okoye: To The People: A Black Panther Novel

(0 reviews) Review
3rd January 2023

Star Child: A Biographical Constellation of Octavia Estelle Butler

National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi illuminates the young life of the visionary storyteller Octavia E. Butler in poem... MoreStar Child: A Biographical Constellation of Octavia Estelle Butler

(0 reviews) Review
11th May 2023

Nigeria Jones: A Novel

“An unwavering proclamation of Black girlhood.” —Candice Iloh, author of National Book Award finalist Every Body Looking... MoreNigeria Jones: A Novel

(0 reviews) Review
Image to show page is loading Show More Books

New Book

Most Popular Book

Recent Reviews

  • Punching the Air

    Punching the Air

    Such a powerful read!

    This book is about a young boy, Amal, who is put in prison for a crime he doesn't commit. It's fiction, but it feels v...

  • Punching the Air

    Punching the Air

    I'll be honest...I don't normally enjoy books written in this poetry style but this book had me hooked!  From the very first page I was drawn into the...

Series by
Ibi Zoboi