Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Alyssa Hollingsworth

Author Links

Alyssa Hollingsworth

  • 5 stars across 2 books
    Alyssa is American and this is her debut novel. Her sister worked for an NGO in Afghanistan and Alyssa travelled to Afghanistan to spend time with her sister and the Afghan people she works with. Alyssa wrote an award-winning essay about that experience and continues to work with refugees in the USA, helping them to adjust to their new lives.

    Alyssa says, Sami's tale was inspired by the Afghans I met in Afghanistan, my older sister's nine years of NGO work in-country, and by the attack at the American charity Roots of Peace in March 2014. Unlike Sami's parents, my sister made it out alive. But I can never forget what it felt like to see a picture of the bombed-out house, printed in Time magazine. The Eleventh Trade is an attempt to give voice to the victims of war who continue to struggle with hope and healing even after they are 'safe'.
    18th September 2018

    The Eleventh Trade

    Winner of the UKLA Book Award For fans of WONDER and REFUGEE BOY - meet Sami, a twelve-year-old refugee from Afghanista... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    17th September 2020

    The Invisible Boy

    A powerful contemporary novel for readers of 11+ about slavery, friendship and standing up for what is right. From the ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    The Invisible Boy The Invisible Boy

    The Invisible Boy

    Paperback
    17th September 2020

    Recent Reviews

    • The Invisible Boy

      The Invisible Boy

      Nadia lives on a normal street, with her blogging mother and an annoying neighbour boy (Kenny), who she calls Paddle Boy because he stole her kayak pa...

    • The Eleventh Trade

      The Eleventh Trade

      by bmd83

      An excellent text about life as a refugee settled in Boston, USA. Sami is desperate to earn back his grandfather’s precious instrument stolen from him...