Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Jo Davies

Author Links

Jo Davies

  • 5 stars across 2 books
    Dick King-Smith served in the Grenadier Guards during the Second World War, and afterwards spent twenty years as a farmer in Gloucestershire, the county of his birth. Many of his stories are inspired by his farming experiences. Later he taught at a village primary school. His first book, The Fox Busters, was published in 1978. He wrote a great number of children's books, including The Sheep-Pig (winner of the Guardian Award and filmed as Babe), Harry's Mad, Noah's Brother, The Hodgeheg, Martin's Mice, Ace, The Cuckoo Child and Harriet's Hare (winner of the Children's Book Award in 1995). At the British Book Awards in 1991 he was voted Children's Author of the Year. In 2009 he was made OBE for services to children's literature. Dick King-Smith died in 2011 at the age of eighty-eight.
    28th January 2016

    Dumplin'

    For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine-self-proclaimed fat g... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    30th September 2000

    Mr.Betts and Mr.Potts

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Dumplin'

      Dumplin'

      Willow loves Dolly Parton, her best friend Ellen as shares that love as well as for her boyfriend Tim, of course.

      Willow is jealous of their love a...