Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

War Game (Special 100th Anniversary of WW1 Ed.)

by

War Game (Special 100th Anniversary of WW1 Ed.) Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

"A masterpiece" - The Times Literary Supplement

"The work of a major children's author at his peak" - The Daily Telegraph
"An unforgettable experience" - The Guardian
A special lavishly-illustrated edition of Michael Foreman's classic children's book about the First World war and the legendary Christmas Day cease-fire football match in no-mans-land.
It's 1914 when everything changes for a group of boys growing up and playing football in the Suffolk countryside. Far away, in a place called Sarajevo, an Archduke has been killed and a web of global events results in a call for all British men to do their duty 'for King and Country' and join the army to fight the Germans overseas. The boys sign up for what sounds like an adventure and a chance to see the world. After basic training the lads sail to France where they find themselves fighting on the front line. Living in the trenches in constant fear for their lives is nothing like they expected and only a bombed-out wasteland, no-man's-land, separates their trenches from those of their German enemies. Then, on Christmas Day, something remarkable happens as the German and British armies stop fighting and meet in the middle of no-man's-land. The enemies talk, play football and become friends. But the war isn't over, the two sides resume fighting and the group of Suffolk lads are ordered to charge across no-man's-land...

War Game (Special 100th Anniversary of WW1 Ed.) Reviews | Toppsta

9781843651789

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Historical fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About Michael Foreman

Michael Foreman is one of the most talented and popular creators of children's books today. He has won the Kate Greenaway Medal twice and his highly acclaimed books are published all over the world. He is married and has three sons. He divides his time between St Ives in Cornwall and London.

More about Michael Foreman

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)