Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Sisters of the Lost Marsh

by

Sisters of the Lost Marsh Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

From the Waterstones Prize-shortlisted author of Our
Castle by the Sea comes a gorgeously gothic story, perfect
for fans of Emma Carroll and Frances Hardinge ...

'My book of the year. This is storytelling so secure and shining
that you can almost feel the glow.' HILARY MCKAY,
Costa Book Award-winning author of The Skylarks' War
'I absolutely love this book ... Lucy Strange is a wonderful,
accomplished writer whose books stay with you long after you
have finished reading.' NATASHA FARRANT, Costa Book
Award-winning author of Voyage of the Sparrowhawk
Life is hard for Willa, Grace and Freya, and their three younger
sisters. Six motherless girls working a farm, living in fear of
their cruel father and the superstition that obsesses him - The
Curse of Six Daughters.
With the arrival of the mysterious
Full Moon Fayre, there's a chance for the eldest girls to
steal a moment's fun, but the day the fayre moves on, Grace vanishes.

Willa goes after her, following a trail that leads
into the dangerous Lost Marsh, where it is said a will-o'-the-wisp
lures lost souls into the dark waters of the mire. If Willa
is to survive and reunite her family, she will need to unravel the
secrets her father has kept hidden, and face her own deepest fears
...
The spellbinding new novel from Lucy Strange, author
of The Secret of Nightingale Wood, The Ghost of Gosswater
and the Waterstones Prize-shortlisted Our Castle by
the Sea
Perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Frances Hardinge and
Sophie Anderson
Combines dreamy magical realism with a thrilling mystery
PRAISE FOR LUCY STRANGE:
'Strange's
writing is luminous' LITERARY REVIEW
'Superbly balanced between readability and poetry'
GUARDIAN
'Perfect in so many
ways!' EMMA CARROLL

Sisters of the Lost Marsh Reviews | Toppsta

9781913322373

Share on

Featured Book
Monster Christmas
Monster Christmas

BOOK OF THE MONTH: We love this Christmassy picture book with rhyming text, gorgeous images and an important message about the importance of kindness.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 10 11
Featured Book
Monster Christmas
Monster Christmas

BOOK OF THE MONTH: We love this Christmassy picture book with rhyming text, gorgeous images and an important message about the importance of kindness.

View book
Featured Books

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)