Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Forgettery

by
,

The Forgettery Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

Amelia's granny forgets lots of things. Little things, like where she put her glasses, and big things like people and places. But everything anyone has ever forgotten is stored in The Forgettery , and there Amelia and her granny learn the power of making memories.

Chosen by The Guardian for Book of the Month!
Filled with warmth and gentle humour, The Forgettery is a beautifully written, sensitive look at dementia and memory loss. Over 850,000 people live with dementia in the UK, which will soar to 2 million by 2051. Globally, around 50 million people live with dementia, with nearly 10 million new cases each year. Opening up discussions surrounding this challenging topic with little ones has never been more important.
Without ever explicitly mentioning dementia, The Forgettery can be enjoyed as an adventure story where children explore a fantastical world where memories can be re-discovered and revisited as well as newly made. Rachel Ip's tender words capture the wonderful bond between grandmother and granddaughter and Laura Hughes conjures up an exciting, wonderous space where our most precious memories are stored, and the challenge of dementia can be gently explored and understood.

The Forgettery Reviews | Toppsta

9781405294768

Share on

Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 1 2 3 4 6 7
Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Books by this author

About Laura Hughes

Laura Hughes is an award-winning illustrator based in London, UK. She loves picture books and has illustrated many titles for children including There's a Pig Up My Nose, written by John Dougherty; Daddy's Sandwich by Pip Jones and We're Going on an Elf Chase by Martha Mumford.

There's a Pig Up My Nose was the winner of Oscar's Book Prize 2018, an annual

More about Laura Hughes

Ratings

  • (6 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)