Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani

by
,

Write a Review

From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel, illustrator of Under My Hijab, comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world's most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars . As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by stories. She loved reading in Tehran's crowded bookstores, and at home she'd spend hours crafting her own tales on giant rolls of paper. Maryam loved school, especially her classes in reading and writing. But she did not like math. Numbers were nowhere near as interesting as the bold, adventurous characters she found in books. Until Maryam unexpectedly discovered a new genre of storytelling: In geometry, numbers became shapes, each with its own fascinating personality-making every equation a brilliant story waiting to be told. As an adult, Maryam became a professor, inventing new formulas to solve some of math's most complicated puzzles. And she made history by becoming the first woman-and the first Iranian-to win the Fields Medal, mathematics' highest award. Maryam's Magic is the true story of a girl whose creativity and love of stories helped her-and the world-to see math in a new and inspiring way.

Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani Reviews | Toppsta

9780062915962

Share on

Featured Book
Into the Sideways World
Into the Sideways World

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Bestselling author Ross Welford is back with a new moving, funny, thrilling and adventure-filled novel for readers 10+

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Into the Sideways World
Into the Sideways World

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Bestselling author Ross Welford is back with a new moving, funny, thrilling and adventure-filled novel for readers 10+

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Books by this author

Books by this illustrator

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)