Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition

by
,

The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

The Bad Beginning is the first book in the globally bestselling series A Series of Unfortunate Events . This exclusive gold foiled 20th anniversary hardback gift edition commemorates the miserable fact that every child in the world has wanted this brilliantly funny book for twenty years.

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Mr Gum, young readers of 9 to 11 will adore the mischievously dark humour. 'A Series of Unfortunate Events' has been made into a blockbuster Hollywood film starring Jim Carrey and is also a hit Netflix TV series. Now with new anniversary blurb by the mysterious author himself.
Dear Reader,
For the past twenty years, my books have been upsetting the countless readers who have been foolish enough to begin to read them. The three Baudelaire siblings and their lives of misery and woe have now been responsible for more than two decades of weeping. From the very first page of this book, when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, to the last page, when something goes wrong at the worst possible moment, disaster strikes Violet, Klaus and Sunny wherever they go.
In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.
I have spent the last twenty years writing down these unpleasant details so that they might be available to the general public, but there is nothing stopping the general public, or you, from putting this book down at once and reading something less upsetting, if you prefer that sort of thing.
With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket
Are you unlucky enough to own all 13 adventures?
The Bad Beginning
The Reptile Room
The Wide Window
The Miserable Mill
The Austere Academy
The Ersatz Elevator
The Vile Village
The Hostile Hospital
The Carnivorous Carnival
The Slippery Slope
The Grim Grotto
The Penultimate Peril
The End
And what about All the Wrong Questions? In this four-book series a 13-year-old Lemony chronicles his dangerous and puzzling apprenticeship in a mysterious organisation that nobody knows anything about:
'Who Could That Be at This Hour?'
'When Did you Last See Her?'
'Shouldn't You Be in School?'
'Why is This Night Different from All Other Nights?'

The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition Reviews | Toppsta

9780755500321

Share on

Featured Book
This Wonderful Thing
This Wonderful Thing

BOOK OF THE MONTH: From the author of bestselling debut, Boy Underwater, comes a moving and hilarious novel for ages 10+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 50 in the A Series of Unfortunate Events Series. See all A Series of Unfortunate Events books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 13
Featured Book
This Wonderful Thing
This Wonderful Thing

BOOK OF THE MONTH: From the author of bestselling debut, Boy Underwater, comes a moving and hilarious novel for ages 10+

View book
Featured Books

About Lemony Snicket

Lemony Snicket was born before you were and is likely to die before you as well. He published his first book in 1999 and has not had a good night's sleep since. Mr Snicket is the author of quite a few books, all dreadful, and has been falsely accused of many crimes, all falsely. Once the recipient of several distinguished rewards, he is now an escapee of sev

More about Lemony Snicket

About Brett Helquist

Alvin Schwartz is known for a body of work of more than two dozen books of folklore for young readers that explores everything from wordplay and humor to tales and legends of all kinds. His collections of scary stories-Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, Scary Stories 3, and two I Can Read books, In a Dark, Dark Room an

More about Brett Helquist

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)