Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Life of Riley: Beginner's Luck

by

The Life of Riley: Beginner's Luck Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 18
18 Reviews
Write a Review

Utterly hilarious middle-grade novel from Simon James
Green about a ridiculous amount of bad luck and one boy's
quest to get rid of it.
After a traumatic run-in with the fortune teller
from a visiting funfair - thanks to an unfortunately-timed
sneeze - Riley finds himself CURSED.
Life as he knows it quickly becomes a catalogue of disasters
- from wetting himself onstage
during the school show, accidentally supergluing himself
to his classmates and ruining the
school football team's sponsorship deal, to flooding
his house and losing class 4's
pet rabbit - Riley knows the bad luck is out to get him.
Enter new kid: Brad Chicago. He's super-cool, well-groomed
and stylish, with an excellent stationery collection. And for
some reason he wants to be Riley's friend. Can Riley
get rid of the curse before Brad discovers he's
a walking disaster?

Shortlisted for the Blue Peter Award! Winner
annouced on World Book Day 2021.
Laugh-out-loud funny, warm-hearted and anarchic in a way that
readers will love.
Brought to life with Aleksei Bitskoff's lively, humorous illustrations.
Perfect for fans of Kid Normal, David Solomons' My
Brother is a Superhero and David Baddiel.
Simon James Green is an award-winning YA author - and, alongside
his upcoming picture books, his first middle-grade novel shows
just how versatile he is.

The Life of Riley: Beginner's Luck Reviews | Toppsta

9780702303623
  • ISBN: 9780702303623
  • Pub Date: 3rd September 2020
  • Publisher: Scholastic
  • Imprint: Scholastic
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 272

Share on

Featured Book
The Ghost Garden
The Ghost Garden

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A powerful and spine-tingling story of childhood set in 1914, by Emma Carroll.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

If you like this try

Category

See More Humorous stories

See More General fiction

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 6 7 8 9 10 11
Featured Book
The Ghost Garden
The Ghost Garden

BOOK OF THE MONTH: A powerful and spine-tingling story of childhood set in 1914, by Emma Carroll.

View book
Featured Books

Ratings

  • (12 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)