Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1

by

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 14
14 Reviews
Write a Review

The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ...it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The Guardian Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything. Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage! When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 Reviews | Toppsta

9781444929591

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the King Flashypants Series. See all King Flashypants books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

9th September '16
BlastyMK read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
Great just so funny. I recommend it to people who like action, adventure and chocolate!
30th August '16
tomg read it themselves aged 12 aged 12
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
The story is about a good king and you also have a bad guy who tries to take the kings castle. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and it did not take too long with the big writing. My favourite character is the king and the plans he comes up with.
30th August '16
I read it to rsa aged 6 aged 6
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
This book went down really well. It has just the right humour for a primary school aged child. My son thought it was very funny. He was very impressed by the 'terrifying dragon' and the mounds of chocolate in Emperor Nurbison's castle. His favourite moment was the song about 'sticking your toes up your nose'. The hilarious illustrations work very well with the story. My son said he would definitely recommend this book.
25th October '16
I read it to Elf aged 9 aged 9 & to Arlo aged 6 aged 6
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
I read this predominately to my 6 year old son who won the book, however my 9 year old daughter also sat in and enjoyed it greatly!
A fantastic and funny book which kept their interest (& mine!) Lots of silly songs and nonsense which obviously little boys love!
My son is presently sat singing some of the silly songs from the book!
I would highly recommend it - we can't wait for the second book which is due out in February (we had to check immediately after finishing the book due to the... to be continued... ending!)
My son wanted to add his review - 
"I love the very funny song called 'My very nice cat'
It was a very good book, I liked it because it was very funny and I think boys and girls would like it. I read 2 pages of it, my mummy read the rest of it. She sang the songs and did funny voices.
Everybody would like this book even old people!
11th April '17
Hermione read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
This book is about a boy called Edwin. He is a young boy but a friendly king.
There is only one problem. Next door lives emperor Nurbison, the most evil emperor in the entire universe.
Every week Edwin gives peasants chocolate. But one week, all the money in the gigantic piggy bank is gone so that means that Edwin cannot give the peasants their weekly chocolate.
Then emperor Nurbison sees that there is no chocolate for the peasants so he decides to make the peasants think that their king doesn't care about them anymore.
The peasants fall for the emperor's trick and attack the castle.
Because of the attack king Edwin, minister Jill and Megan the jester have to flee the castle. Maybe this will lead to a big adventure...

This book has beautiful and funny illustrations and I would recommend this book to any age.
12th August '16
Westy10 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
I liked this book because it was funny. 
My favourite character was the jester who tried to walk a tightrope. The little boy suggested that he try and fall over in the hope that the reverse would happen. The jester became good then.
I think boys and girls age 6 to 8 probably would like this book. The writing is big and for this reason it's quite quick to read
21st September '16
DC read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
I read this over a few days and really liked the story. The story is an adventure/mystery and I think my friends would like it. My favourite character was King Edwin. He kept saying things like 'Seize him' and kept buying sweets and chocolate. I liked the pictures and would give this 5 stars out of 5. The ending makes me want to read book two. 
17th September '16
Lydib read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
I really liked the cover of this book and was excited to start reading. Its a brilliant book, very funny all the way through. Easy to read because the text is a good large size and the pictures are great.
4th October '16
Arsenal2 read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
I would recommend this book.This book is hilarious and I loved reading it so much I finished it very quickly. It would appeal to anyone who enjoys David Walliam books. 
14th September '16
I read it to Harry04 aged 9 aged 9
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
5 stars
This book was so good. I liked the characters because they were funny. I would recommend it to my friends.
19th September '16
Rat-rat09 read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
4 stars
Thank you for this great book!
I found it really funny and I liked the storyline. 
It annoyed me that it always said 'minister Jill' and 'Megan the jester' every time they mentioned them, why not just say Megan or Jill?? 

I loved the illustrations, and the funky names of all the evil emperors. 

The book is a good size to hold, but it's quite floppy so it wears quickly, I loved the writing on the inside covers - it's so funny to see writing all round the book like that, I enjoyed making mummy read it!! Mummy didn't like the feel
Of the paper inside the book, she said it made her shudder, like nails on a chalkboard, but I liked it! 

I'd recommend this book to my friends it a great read, but the ending was a bit annoying, it's left unfinished!!!!!
5th September '16
Rachy read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
4 stars
This book is a fun and exciting book to read. 
11th September '16
Pokeman read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
4 stars
This book is funny and has a character that is funny and likeable. It's not too long and has good illustrations. The book has some morals at the end which make you think about the story and your life.

If you like funny and silly stories read this.
23rd September '16
edwardpeacock read it themselves aged 7 aged 7
King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1 9781444929591
4 stars
This was a good book. It was quite funny. The emperor was trying to get the king and the king nearly threw the emperor's crown off the cliff.
I gave this book 4 stars as I didn't think it was quite as good as it looked from the cover and flicking through it.  I like the fact that it had pictures in it.
I read this book in 3 days and it was easy to read.  I enjoyed the story.  My favourite part was when it showed pictures of the naughty people.
Show More (0)

About Andy Riley

Andy Riley is a highly successful cartoonist and comedy scriptwriter. TV writing credits include HBO's Veep, Gangsta Granny, Robbie the Reindeer, Little Britain and Black Books. Film credits include The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists and Gnomeo and Juliet. His bestselling books include The Bunny Suicides series....

More about Andy Riley

Ratings

    5 stars
  • (10 Reviews)
  • (4 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)