Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket

by
,

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 3
3 Reviews
Write a Review

Ivy is now the beloved daughter of Ezra and Mother Snagbsy, coffin makers, even if she does have to work rather like a maid. Their trade is roaring, and Ivy is as happy as a pig in clover. Especially when she escapes to the library to talk to the devastatingly sympathetic Miss Carnage.

But then Ivy guesses that all is not as it seems with her new parents, and discovers that she can pass into the world of the Clock Diamond. There, she sees her friend Rebecca, horribly sad and desperate.

Can Ivy save Rebecca, and what do a missing aristocrat, a forbidden love affair and a bullfrog have to do with her mission?

Illustrated in humorous gothic detail by John Kelly, Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket is the second tale in Ivy's deadly comic journey to discover who she really is ... Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket Reviews | Toppsta

9781408858677

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

24th May '16
I read it myself (an adult)
Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket 9781408858677
5 stars
Ivy Pocket is a brilliantly sassy heroine who is feisty and fearless. She is very funny and I was always chuckling as I read her conversations. I loved Ivy's witty asides and retorts.
She also has a propensity for mayhem and this often has hilarious results. The chapter where Mrs Roach and her two daughters come for tea is pure slapstick farce.

Yet despite her boldness, Ivy is also incredibly naive and rather deluded. Things which are blindingly obvious to the reader are not clear to Ivy at all. This dramatic irony helps to build up tension and suspense in the story.

Ivy is living in Victorian London and is the recently adopted daughter of two coffin makers, Mr and Mrs Snagsby. She is kept under lock and key and works hard for her new parents - running errands, doing the housework and reciting poems to the dying. She is entrusted with the powerful Clock Diamond, which she keeps hidden on a chain around her neck. Others have died wearing this necklace but Ivy is able to wear it and survive. The Clock Diamond has special powers; when you look into it, it allows you to see glimpses of the past, present or future. It is here that Ivy has seen her friend Matilda whom she believed was dead. However, it appears that Matilda is alive, in danger and being kept prisoner in another world. Ivy resolves to rescue her and this is the adventure that Ivy embarks upon in Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket, the second book in the series.

I've not read the first book, Anyone But Ivy Pocket, and I was worried that starting on book two might be confusing. This wasn't a problem, however, as throughout the book there were helpful recaps of significant plot lines from the first book.

Book two has lots of intriguing sub-plots too. There's the mystery surrounding the Snagsby's absent daughter; a missing aristocrat; Mother Snagsby's fiercely guarded padlocked recipe book; and the highly suspicious way that Mr and Mrs Snagsby's ailing customers always die (rather conveniently) during their appointment to discuss their funeral arrangements.

In addition to Ivy, there's a fabulous cast of supporting characters: a vengeful ghost; a bitter and scheming grandmother and her equally unpleasant granddaughter; a shady librarian and the frightful Mrs Snagsby.

John Kelly's glorious full-page illustrations perfectly capture the  mood of the story be it sinister, humorous or dramatic.

This is a thrilling adventure for anyone who loves mystery, mischief and mayhem.
18th May '17
PosyPie read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket 9781408858677
5 stars
This book is amazing!!!
There are so many unpredictable twists ending on a cliff hanger.
I can't wait for my mum to get the third one!
13th May '19
zainab's read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket 9781408858677
5 stars
I thought this book was absolutely incredible!
Ivy is deliciously rude too all of her acquaintances and calls everyone 'dear' as if to be an elderly woman.
She is so very sly and comes up with the best ideas (especially when trapped in a different world) that, somehow, save her life.
Just  so you know, when reading this wondrous book you may begin to feel sympathetic for Ivy Pocket but do not fret, her cheek shall make up for it. The one thing, however, that we should all sympathise toward her is that she may ever have a normal (non-magic) friend... If only she were real. I would certainly be best of friends with her. 
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Misfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . A spellbinding new fantasy series for ages 8+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Malamander
Malamander

Our reviewers LOVED this magical mystery set in Eerie-on-Sea, recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Caleb Krisp

Caleb Krisp was raised by militant librarians who fed him a constant diet of nineteenth-century literature and room temperature porridge. He graduated from the University of Sufferance with a degree in Whimsy and set out to make his mark in the world as a writer. Years of toil and failure followed, until, following a brief stint working in a locked box, Cale...

More about Caleb Krisp

About John Kelly

John Kelly has been illustrating, writing, and designing books since just after the invention of the clay tablet in Ancient Mesopotamia. He has now moved on to shouting at a computer screen, sharpening endless pencils, and staring at a blank page of a Moleskine notebook. He lives...

More about John Kelly

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)